Tipperary's Rockwell College beaten by Cork's Christian Brothers College in Munster rugby final

Munster Schools under 15 Development League final: Rockwell College 17 Christian Brothers College 28




A spirited Rockwell College side lost out on home soil to Cork’s Christian Brothers College (CBC) in the Munster Schools under 15 Development League final on Wednesday.

Fielding 17 players who trialed for the Munster Rugby development squad, CBC got quickly into their stride and were soon 7-0 up. They were dominant in the opening 20 minutes, despite some excellent tackling from Rockwell's John Kennedy, Peter McGarry and Tom Downey.

Rockwell managed to fight back when some good inter-play through the backline saw Ben Farrelly go over for a converted try. CBC scored two further tries, despite the valiant efforts of the Rockwell backs. Their number 10 remarkably converted all three tries from near the sideline.

Rockwell went on the attack and had CBC under severe pressure on their own line, but the Cork side intercepted. Peter McGarry covered over half the length of the pitch to make a wonderful try that kept Rockwell in the game. Rockwell then went through an excellent passage of attack after a Peter McGarry break that resulted in Tom Ross scoring near the corner, leaving the score 21-12.

CBC managed to score again just before the break, leaving the half-time score 28-12 in favour of the Cork team.

Rockwell did not lie down and came out in the second half determined to make inroads into CBC's lead. Shane Neville scored early near the corner to make it a very interesting second half. This try, however, was unconverted from a difficult angle.

Rockwell took the initiative and grew in confidence, bombarding CBC's line for the next 20 minutes. From an excellent phase of attack with 10 minutes remaining, John Kennedy waltzed through to score, but a knock on was spotted in the build-up.

The Rockwell pack continued to put CBC under pressure and some great carries by Tom Downey, Henry Buttimer, Lorcan Cummins and Shane Neville resulted in them being just held up on the line.

CBC ran out winners, but the athletic Rockwell side never gave up and this will stand to them for next year’s Junior Cup.

Team: Tarcisio Chandra, Joseph Lawrence, Lorcan Cummins, James Cronin,  Niall Maher, Eddie Dunphy, Tom Downey, Shane Neville (captain), Tom Ross, Conor Hogan, Peter McGarry, Henry Buttimer, Casey Jay Coleman, John Kennedy, Ben Farrelly. Subs: Harry McSweeney, Lorenzo Grebe, Jamie Browne, Michael Long, Toby Collier, Zac Lynch, Mario Gomez, Tadhg Carey, Bobby Smith, Richard Buchelli.

More Tipperary sport.