All-Ireland winning manager named as Tipperary Association Person of the Year

Liam Sheedy, the retired Tipperary senior hurling manager, is the Tipperary Association Dublin’s choice for Tipperary Person of the year for 2010.

Liam Sheedy, the retired Tipperary senior hurling manager, is the Tipperary Association Dublin’s choice for Tipperary Person of the year for 2010.

The Portroe man along with his excellent management team led Tipperary to the holy grail of hurling in 2010 when the premier county came out on top of the great Kilkenny team who were seeking to create history and win 5 in a row All-Ireland senior hurling titles.

Retired Bishop of Killaloe, the Most Reverend Willie Walsh has been nominated by the Tipperary Association as its Hall of Fame winner for 2010.

Sheedy represented Tipperary in hurling in all grades from under 16 in the 1980s to 2000. He holds a Munster Minor medal (1987), two Under-21 Munster titles, an All-Ireland title at Under-21 in 1989, two All-Ireland Junior tiles (1989 & 1991), a Nation League medal (1999) and was a member of the Tipperary team beaten in the 1997 All-Ireland by Clare.

The highlight of his club hurling came in 1990 when he won a County Intermediate hurling title with his native Portroe.

Shortly after his retirement from playing, Sheedy became involved in management, thus, ensuring he was never far away from the game he loves – Tipperary hurling. In 2000 he took charge of the Tipperary Intermediate team and went on to win the Munster and All-ireland Championships.

He managed the Tipperary Minors in 2005 and 2006 winning the All-ireland in 2006 having come through the “back door” after defeat by Cork in the Munster Championship.

Along with Eamonn O’Shea and Michael Ryan he took over as manager of the senior team in September 2007. He had a tremendous first season coming through the Waterford Crystal Cup and the National Hurling League undefeated. As winner of both competitions confidence was high and after breaking the Park Ui Chaoimh “hoodoo”, Tipperary went on to win the 2008 Munster Championship, defeating Clare in the final. However, Tipperary lost that year’s All-Ireland Semi-final to a “fired up” Waterford.

In 2009, under Sheedy’s stewardship, Tipperary again won the Munster final and went on to meet Kilkenny in the All-Ireland final. After one of the best finals in memory Tipp lost to the “Cats” but with a little luck the day could have been Tipps.

Tipperary started the 2010 hurling championship with a defeat to Cork and the team had to take the “backdoor” route, which they came through successfully. Galway were the opponents in the quarter-final and after a heart stopping last few minutes Tipp, through a late Lar Corbett point, pulled the game out of the fire to reach the semi-final where Waterford were once again the opponents. After a great performance Tipp won the day and faced Kilkenny in the final - a repeat of the 2009 final.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.