All the fun of the fair at New Inn festival

Having been postponed on June 12 last, following a bad weather forecast, New Inn festival went ahead last Sunday having defied the elements despite some heavy showers.

Having been postponed on June 12 last, following a bad weather forecast, New Inn festival went ahead last Sunday having defied the elements despite some heavy showers.

The event saw huge community spirit with involvement from young and old alike. In the midst of the current economic climate, the festival committee wishes to thank all those who contributed sponsorship in any way, without which the event could not go on.

The festival committee also wishes to thank all those who gave up their time to help out on the day. This year’s show saw the introduction of many new areas of interest - Wheel of Fortune, Hi-Volt Recycling corner, Go-Kart racing, Best dressed lady and most glamorous Granny to name but a few with a little something for everyone.

Among those to go home with a prize were -

Daisy winner: Well done to Mary Flynn, Outrath, Cahir;

Floats in the Parade - Women’s group. Theme “The Royal family in Ireland”

Baby Show: Under 6 mths: 1st, Mai Donnelly 2nd, Aisling Lee. 6-12mths: 1st, Naoise O’Donovan, 2nd, Lily Mai Ryan. 12-18mths, Josh Ryan, 18-24 mths, Gearoid English.

Dog Show: There was several different categories, well done to all the winners but the overall “Dog of the Show” went to a dog named Robbie owned by Joseph Lawrence, Lagganstown.

Photography Competition. Adult: 1st, Helen Fitzgerald, Lagganstown, 2nd, Mary Frances Barron, New Inn. Junior: Cormac English, both 1st prize winners received a €50 Canvas Print from Cormac O’Dwyer, O’Dwyer Pharmacy, Cashel.

Art Competition: Diarmuid English (pic of St Patrick) and Kevin O’Connor (pic of Stables). Please note winners from either the Photography or Art section who did not collect their prize should contact John Landy on 087 6828228. Best Dressed Casual Lady: Imelda St Claire; Most Glam Granny: Breeda Swords, Cahir.

Steady Hand: Cillian English. D.I.Y. table: P. Doherty. Guess weight of Lamb Comp: Eoghan Sheehy.

Hurling Wall skills competitions: Football: 1st, Christopher Hickey, 2nd, Aidan Barron, Hurling: 1st, Mark O’Brien, 2nd, Christopher Hickey. U12 Football: Mark Ryan, U12 Hurling: Stevan Grogan.

Sport Results- Toddlers: Girls - 1st: Kelly Flanagan Bourke, 2nd: Sienna O’Dwyer, 3rd: Grace O’Dwyer, Toddler Boys - 1st: Ryan O’Grady, 2nd: Neill Tobin, 3rd: Gearoid English. U4’s Girls - 1st: Anna O’Donoghue, 2nd: Margaret McGrath, 3rd: Tory Kirwan U4 Boys - 1st: Eoin Flanagan Bourke, 2nd: John O’Regan, 3rd: James O’Donnell. U5 Girls 1st: Evlyn Dowling, 2nd: Anna O’Donoghue. 3rd: Margaret McGrath, U5 Boys 1st: Eoin Flanagan Bourke, 2nd: John O’Regan, 3rd: Oisin Cunningham/David Connelly U6 Boys 1st: Shane Tarrant, 2nd: John O’Regan, 3rd: David Connelly.U7 girls: 1st Aliah McKenna, 2nd Niamh Ryan, U7 Boys: Evan O’Regan, 2nd Shane Tarrant, 3rd Senan McMahon: U8 girls 1st Danielle Murphy, 2nd Eleanor Tobin, 3rd Emer Healy. U8 Boys: Evan O’Regan, 2nd Tom Marnane, 3rd Senan McMahon, U9 Boys: Jake Fitzgerald, 2nd Tom Downey, 3rd Finbarr & Diarmuid English, U9 girls: 1st: Danielle Murphy, 2nd Eleanor Tobin, 3rd: Eva Ryan. U10 Girls 1st Anne O’Donovan, 2nd Erin O’Regan 3rd Danielle Murphy, U10 Boys 1st: Jake Fitzgerald, 2nd: Conor O’Neill, 3rd Diarmuid English, U12 Girls 1st Erin O’Regan, 2nd: Cleo Ryan 3rd Danielle Murphy, U12 boys Ricky Morrissey, 2nd Conor O’Brien, 3rd Eric Dowling. U14 Girls 1st Cleo Ryan/Jade O’Malley, 2nd Danielle Murphy 3rd Ciara Moloney, U14 Boys Cillian English, 2nd Dara Brennan, 3rd Fergus English U16 Girls: 1st Elise O’Connor 2nd Robyn Anchell, 3rd Clodagh McGivern. Mother’s race 1st: Bernie Connelly, 2nd Deirde Kirwan, 3rd Sandra English/Emer Grogan. Father’s race 1st Dinny Ryan, 2nd Donal Moloney, 3rd Conor English/Michael Bourke.

U8 football blitz: - 4 team participated, Ballyporeen, Rockwell Rovers, Fr Sheehys and Rosegreen. U10 football blitz: - 4 team participated, Golden, Rosegreen, Rockwell Rovers and Ballyporeen. Overall winners Ballyporeen who beat Rockwell Rovers in nail biting final! For more details see U10 Camoige blitz: 3 teams participated, Cahir, Boherlahan and New Inn. Well done to all involved in these blitz, a big thank you to all the coaches of the various teams.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.