Jack Ryan follows in father Declan’s footsteps with hat-trick for Clonoulty-Rossmore

West Tipp Bord na nOg

West Tipp Bord na nOg

Last Thursday evening saw the completion of all our U14 Hurling championships in the Division with West titles going in the way of Clonoulty/Rossmore (U14A), Sean Treacys (U14B) and Rosegreen (U14C).

Dundrum was the venue the D.J.Butler Centra Dundrum sponsored U14A West Final where Feile Na Gael and U14A League winners Clonoulty/Rossmore made it a hat trick of West titles this year with a clear cut victory over Arravale Rovers.

Foundations for Clonoulty’s victory were firmly laid with a three goal haul by corner forward Jack Ryan, son of Tipperary Senior Hurling team manager Declan Ryan and along with further well taken scores by Declan O’Dwyer 1-0 and an array of points by Dylan Quirke, James Hammersley and Cathal Burke all added up to an impressive tally of scores.

Others to play their part in Clonoulty’s victory included Michael Ryan (W) playing a captain’s part, centre back Cathal Moriarty and Enda Heffernan.

For Arravale Rvs, who finished runners up in all three finals, never stopped trying throughout against a well coached Clonoulty Rvs side that could progress on to collect County Final honours.

Final Score, Clonoulty/Rossmore 4-15 Arravale Rovers 1-1

Carey in top form for Sean Treacys

In the Morrissey furniture sponsored U14B West Final Sean Treacys were equally impressive winners following a fifteen point margin victory over the Aherlow/Galtee Rovers combination.

Having seen off Cappawhite and Lattin/Cullen on the way, Sean Treacys went into the final as firm favourites and following a real ding dong first half battle which saw Sean Treacys hold a seven point lead at the break, 3-6 to 2-2, they went on to add a further 1-6 while limiting the combo to a solitary point.

Brian Carey emerged top scorer for the winners with 2-6 followed by Pat Carey with 1-5, Mikey Feehan 1-0 and Christy Egan 0-1

Wing back Paul Ryan, Emmett Ryan, Tommy Lyons and goalie Shane Stapleton were others to leave their mark on the game for the winners.

Galtee Rovers Darragh Egan including two first half goals finished with 2-1, Shane Ryan and Shane Power with 0-1 each, Aaron Cunningham, David Byron, Calum Fanning and Jake Flannery at wing back all stood out for the Aherlow/Galtee Rvs combination.

Final Score, Sean Treacys 4-12 Aherlow/Galtee Rovers 2-3

Hayde proves the star for Rosegreen

In the Morrissey furniture U14C Championship Final both Rosegreen and Emly fought out a cracking fifty minutes hurling which ended with two points separating the sides at the finish on a score line of 1-9 to 0-10 in favour of Rosegreen.

Enjoying the better of the early exchanges Rosegreen’s Colm Hayde got their scoring underway with a number of points from frees and play while Tommy Ryan kept Emly in touch resulting in some well taken points from his accurate free taking.

A goal from a twenty metre free by Colm Hayde before half time and points by Diarmuid Quinlan and Jonathan Keating game Rosegreen a six point cushion at the break, 1-6 to Emly’s 0-3.

The second half saw Emly with the aid of the strong breeze lay siege on the Rosegreen rearguard which had to soak up a lot of pressure and while Emly won the second half on the scoreboard adding a further 0-7, Rosegreen added three crucial extra points through Colm Hayde, Kevin Hickey and Diarmuid Quinlan to secure victory.

Tommy Ryan with a further 0-4, James Corby, Paul O’Heney and Stephen Cummins with 0-1 each completed Emly’s scoring.

This completes the double for Rosegreen having also defeated Emly in the U14C Football decider back in May.

Final Score, Rosegreen 0-10 Emly 1-9