Rockwell win through to final

West IHC

West IHC

Rockwell Rovers 0-16

Arravale Rovers 1-11

Rockwell Rovers created a bit of a surprise in the Tipperary Credit Union intermediate hurling championship semi-final at Golden on Saturday evening when they defeated Arravale Rovers by two points on a scoreline of 0-16 to 1-11.

The surprise was due to the fact that when the sides met in the league part of the championship Arravale had six points to spare. Rockwell now meet Sean Treacys in the final.

The winners had the breeze in their favour during the first half but it was Arravale who got off to the better start when they scored goal in the opening minutes. In fact it could be said they had the edge for most of the half and led by 1-7 to 0-9 at the interval. Significantly Alan Moloney had all of Rockwell’s scores and eight of the nine came from frees.

If Arravale put up the better show against the breeze in the first half it was Rockwell who did so after the interval. They dug deep and in an exciting encounter came out on top. They were helped by some great performances especially by Eoin Shine at full-back and Pat Hally in the centre.

The result was that Rockwell outscored Arravale by three points in the second half. They were helped in no small way by two great points from 65s from Alan Moloney and another from a free. He also scored from play to give him a grand totalof thirteen of his side’s sixteen points.

Rockwell got some great performances. Alan Moloney stood out head and shoulders above the rest but he got good support from Eoin Shine, Pat Hally, Stephen Quirke, Barry Shorthall and Eoin Byrne.

Arravale finished up with 1-11 and will be disapponted with the result. Best for themwere Richie Lohan, Ger Mulhair and Donagh Leahy.

Rockwell Rovers: Michael O’Donnell, Kevin Heney, Eoin Shine, Stephen Quirke, Diarmuid Lonergan, Pat Hally, Barry Shortall (0-1), Aiden Barron, Eoin Byrne (0-1), Stephen Boland, Gavin Ryan, Alan Moloney (0-13), T. J.Ryan (0-1). Subs: James O’Halloran for Eoin Byrne, Eoin Ryan for Stephen Boland.

Arravale Rovers: Thomas Gleeson, Richie Lohan, John Hayes, Ger O’Dwyer, Ger Mulhair, Robbie Kiely, Stephen Spillane, Shane leahy, Roger O’Connor, Damian Kiely, Darren Lowry, Peter Mulhair (0-2), Timmy Dalton (0-5), Donagh Leahy (1-3), Paddy Dalton. Subs: Stephen Quinn for Darren Lowry, Brian Jones (0-1) for Timmy Dalton, Brian Lowry for Roger O’Connor.

Referee: Sean Bradshaw (Kickhams)