Football titles for Sologhead and Lattin-Cullen

West Tipperary Bord na nOg

West Tipperary Bord na nOg

In a well contested Jordan Embroidery U14C Football West Final played in Annacarty on Sunday evening last, three goals by full forward Jack Redigan paved the way for a well deserved six point margin victory by Sologhead over Knockavilla Kickhams.

With two points separating the sides in the Kickhams favour when they last met earlier in the competition, the West final lived up to all expectations as both sides battled right to the finish before Sologhead were on target ensuring victory with a number of late scores.

Ahead at the break 1-2 to 0-3 with points by Paudie Franklin and Ben Quinn and the first of Jack Redigan’s three goals while points by Devin Ryan (1) and Andrew Ronan (2) kept the Kickhams within range of the opposition.

With the aid of the breeze in the second half Sologhead kept up the momentum and despite constant Kickhams pressure the Sologhead rearguard held firm and making better use of possession got the vital scores which won the day and also guaranteed a League and Championship double.

After the game a delighted Sologhead captain Denis O’Shea was presented the winners Shield by Vice Chairman of West Tipperary Bord Na nOg Seamus Furlong and will now go on to meet North Tipp opposition in the Co. Semi Final.

Final score, Sologhead 3-8 Knockavilla Kickhams 2-3

Sologhead - Seamus Burns, Jordan Cummins, Ethan Cummins, D.J.Cremins, Denis O’Shea, Will Collins, Ben Quinn 0-3, Aaron Ryan, Dean Morrissey 0-2, Evan Hanrahan 0-1, Padraig Franklin 0-1, Jack Redigan 3-1, Dylan Ryan.

Subs all used, Brahim Ryan, Rodrigo Serrano, Dylan Murphy.

Knockavilla Kickhams - Declan Kennedy, Alan Butler, Andrew Heffernan, Padraig Hickey, Brendan Ryan, Cathal Carr, Mark Furlong 2-0, Brendan O’Dwyer, Andrew Ronan 0-2, Barry McCarthy, Ger O’Dwyer, Devin Ryan 0-1, Kieran Browne.

Subs. Alan O’Brien, John Kennedy, Colm O’Rourke, Zach O’Halloran, Michael O’Dwyer.

Referee: Michael Barron (Rockwell Rvs).

Lattin/Cullen win U16 ‘B’

Sologhead was the venue last week for the Cashel Credit Union sponsored U16B Football Championship West Final where the Emly/Treacys combination and Lattin/Cullen fought out a cracking sixty minutes football before Lattin/Cullen finally emerged champions with a four point winning margin.

Going for their third West U16B West title in a row, the ‘combo’ went into the game as firm favourites and were first to make the breakthrough producing the perfect start with an early goal by Emlys Andrew Vance.

With Mikey Power and Tony Byrnes gaining the upper hand around mid field, Shane Neville enjoying an amount of possession began to make his presence felt and proving a real thorn in the Emly/Treacys defence reeled off 1-3 including two pointed frees for a three point advantage.

Twenty minutes into the game it was all square as the ‘combo’ living up to their pre match favourites tag continued to test the Lattin/Cullen backs with Andrew Vance, Michael Feehan and Sean Burke all pointing to leave it 1-3 a piece but two further points by Shane Neville in the closing minutes of the first half put Lattin/Cullen ahead at the break, 1-5 to 1-3.

Within a minute of the resumption Lattin/Cullen’s Tony Byrnes extended their lead with a well taken point but a swift response by Emly/Treacys Andrew Vance and Michael Feehan with points each saw the gap narrowed to a single point.

With both sides battling for superiority Shane Neville and Andrew Vance exchanged points and following a goalmouth scramble Liam Carroll finished the ball to the net for a crucial second Lattin/Cullen goal to go four points ahead.

In a hectic final eight minutes Andrew Vance hit back with two points to reduce the gap to two but having soaked an amount of pressure Lattin/Cullen stood firm and had the final say as Kevin Franks and Shane Neville wrapped up the scoring with a point each for a well earned and deserved victory.

Goalkeeper Luke Ashmore, Sean Dillon, Tony Byrnes, Mikey Power and Shane Neville who topped the scoring with 1-7 all stood out for Lattin/Cullen while Andrew Vance, Michael Feehan, Brian Carey, James Condon, Cian Quish and Tommy Lyons were always prominent for Emly/Treacys.

After the game Lattin/Cullen captain Mikey Power was presented with the winners trophy by West Tipp Bord Na nOg PRO, Tommy Fitzgerald.

Final Score, Lattin/Cullen 2-9 Emly/Treacys 1-8

Lattin/Cullen - Luke Ashmore, Brendan McGrath, Sean Dillon, Joe Bradshaw, Patrick Crehan, Shane McGrath, Mikey O’Halloran, Mikey Power (Capt), Tony Byrnes 0-1, Liam Carroll, Shane Neville 1-7, Sean Crowe, Connie O’Halloran, Kevin Franks 0-1, Liam Quirke.

Subs. Thomas Nash, Mark O’Dwyer, Danny Moloney, Liam Corcoran, Kevin Kinnane, Mikey Hayes.

Emly/Treacys - Shane Stapleton (Sean Treacys), Jack O’Toole (S/T), James Condon (Emly), Cian Quish (E), Paul Ryan (S/T), Tommy Lyons (S/T), Emmett Ryan (S/T), Brian Carey (S/T), Sean Burke (E) 0-1, Michael Feehan (S/T) 0-2, Andrew Vance (E) 1-5, Simon Maher (S/T), Phillip Murphy (E), Patrick Deegan (S/T), Danny Cunningha (E).

Subs. James Corby (E) for Phillip Murphy, Dylan Ryan (S/T) for Danny Cunningham,

Others included, Mike Hayes (S/T), Stephen Cummins (E), David Burke (E), John William Ryan (E), Patrick Carey (S/T), David O’Brien (E).

Referee: David Grogan (Aherlow).

West win ‘Peadar Cummins’ hurling

On Saturday last West Tipp’s U14 Hurlers travelled to Borrisleigh for the annual Peadar Cummins Inter Divisional tournament and following two massive performances by the West lads came away with a first ever Peadar Cummins title.

Having worked hard over the last number of months under the guidance of Eoin Kennedy(Galtee Rvs), Tom O’Donnell (Golden/Kilfeacle) and Kevin Halley (Rockwell Rvs) the hard slog of training and challenge games paid rich dividends as they finished with thirteen points to spare over North Tipp in the Semi Final and later outclassed favourites Mid Tipp in the Final.

Congratulations also to the U12 footballers of the Kickhams who on Monday May 20 in Holycross captured their first ever U12A football county title with a six point margin win over Mid Champions Durlas Og. Having proved too good for Inane Rovers in the Semi Final the West champions captained by Eddie Daly landed the silverware.

(See county Bord na nOg notes for full details on all the U12 Football County Finals)


Peadar Cummins U14 Hurling Inter Divisional Hurling

Semi Final, West Tipp 1-15 North Tipp 0-5; Final, West Tipp 4-16 Mid Tipp 2-3

U16 B Football West Final: Lattin/Cullen 2-9 Emly/Treacys 1-8

U14A Football Semi Final: Cashel KC 1-9 Arravale Rvs 0-9

U14B Football Semi Finals: Emly/Treacys 4-6 Clonoulty/Rossmore 2-7; Eire Og 1-4 Cappawhite 0-4

U14C Championship

Semi Final - Sologhead 10-6 Arravale Rvs 5-3

West Final – Sologhead 3-8 Knockavilla Kickhams 2-3

U12Football County Finals

U12A – Knockavilla Kickhams 2-6 Durlas Og 1-3

U12B – Clonmel Og 5-8 Cappawhite 2-3

U12C – Ballyporeen 1-5 Burgess 1-3

U12D – Fr. Sheehys 1-10 Clonoulty/Rossmore 2-3

U12 Football Shield Final: Arravale Rvs 5-12 Clonoulty/Rossmore 3-6

U12E West Final, Arravale Rvs 3-5 Cappawhite 1-2

U12F West Final, Knockavilla Kickhams 2-1 Eire Og 0-1


Thursday May 30

U14 Football Plate Semi Finals (Extra Time)

K.Kickhams v Rockwell Rvs or Lattin/Cullen, Dundrum 7pm, Richie O’Connor

Monday June 6

U14 Football Plate Semi Final (Extra Time)

Arravale Rvs v Golden/Kilfeacle or Rosegreen, STPk 7pm, David Grogan

U14 Football Shield West Final (Extra Time)

Cappawhite or Arravale Rvs v Knockavilla Kickhams 7pm

(Full details regarding referee or venue not confirmed at time of writing).