Ardfinnan score seven goals and cruise to facile 27 points win

Ardfinnan 7-10 Mullinahone CJ Kickhams 0-4

Ardfinnan 7-10 Mullinahone CJ Kickhams 0-4

For the second weekend in a row we were treated to a mismatch in the Hall Alarms South Tipp U21B football championship. Both the winners and the losers on Sunday in Fethard were both involved in such ties the previous week.

For Ardfinnan it was their second big win in a row. For hapless Mullinahone it was their second heavy loss.

Indications of the end result came early in the game with the ease that Ardfinnan cut through for scores. The first Ardfinnan goal came in five minutes and it was ominous that the score resulted from a corner forward standing alone well inside the full back line when the ball came into him. Ardfinnan were well on top from then on and applied constant pressure.

Mullinahone hardly mounted an attack. Midway through the first half the game was well and truly over as in a short five minute spell the Kickhams were hit for three further goals, a number of which were similar to goal number one. Half time arrived with the score Ardfinnan 5-5 Mullinahone 0-0.

At the break Mullinahone switched around a number of their players. Perhaps it was the few words said to the team during the interval or perhaps it was the fact that they had a breeze in the second half or maybe Ardfinnan took their foot off the pedal because they had such a good lead but quite a number of the Mullinahone raised their games in the second half. They added four points to their blank scorecard even if Ardfinnan continued to add to their total. When Paddy Ivors blew the final whistle the score stood Ardfinnan 7-10 Mullinahone C J Kickhams 0-04

It wouldn’t be fair to pick out players who played well in such a game but the biggest difference between the sides was in the execution of the basic skills such as fielding the ball or moving forward to meet to gain possession where the Ardfinnan men were much superior .In the second half a number of the Mullinahone men greatly improved their games when they played well with increased determination. The final round of games will see Ardfinnan attempting to consolidate their top of the section position against Swan while Mullinahone will be hoping to break their duck with a better display against Grangemockler/Davins

Ardfinnan - Cathal Boyle, Daragh Boyle, Sean Nagle, James Shine, Shane Keating, Colin O’Shaughnessy, Michael Tobin, Daragh McNamara, Stephen Lambert, Michael Hogan, Aaron Lonergan, Colin O’Gorman, Michael Barlow, Gerry Cronin, Daniel Cunningham

Mullinahone CJ Kickhams - Richie Walsh, Michael Cody, George Browning, Colin Shelly, Edward Dunne, Enda Keane, Joe Hogan, Chris O’Brien, Sean Walzer, Graham Horan. Jack Shelly, Paul Luttrell, Michael Dunne, John O’Grady, Shane Egan.