Daragh Egan impresses as Galtee/Emly win easily

Galtee/Emly 2-12

Galtee/Emly 2-12

Aherlow Gaels 0-8

When the sides met at the same venue a week earlier the match was abandoned at the beginning of the second half because of fog.

On that occasion the Aherlow Gaels appeared to have the better chance of coming out on top but on Sunday there was no doubt about the superiority of Galtee/Emly when they defeated the Gaels by 2-12 to 0-8 in the McGrath Oil West under-21 A football championship.

Two goals by Daragh Egan in the first quarter gave the winners a hold on the game which they never relinquished.

Aherlow Gaels came more into the game in the second quarter but their scoring capacity was limited and Galtee/Emly led by 2-6 to 0-5 at the interval.

When Aherlow Gaels Ed O’Meara received a second yellow card and his walking papers early in the second half, it left a greater mountain for the Gaels to climb.

While they limited the capacity of Galtee/Emly to score and continued to fight to the very end, they could never get on top of the game and Galtee/Emly’s victory was never in doubt.

In the end they were ahead by 2-12 to 0-8.

Galtee/Emly: Callum Fanning, Davy Byron, Shane Power, Cian Quish, Sean Burke, Darren Burke (capt.), Declan Hennessy, Kevin Power (0-1), Eric Grogan, Darren McGrath (0-1), Jason Ryan (0-3), Sean Daly (0-1), Stephen O’Dwyer (0-1), Daragh Egan (2-5), David Finane.

Aherlow Gaels: Jamie Franks, Mikey Power, John Moloney, David Cooney, Sean Cunningham, Ed O’Meara (capt.), Stephen Moloney, Thomas O’Donoghue (0-1), Anthony Leahy, Eoin O’Connell, Darren Neville (0-1), Shane Ryan (0-1), Kevin Kinane (0-1), Mark Russell (0-4), Kevin Franls. Subs: David O’Heney, Peter Moloney, Patrick Crehan.

Referee: Sean Bradshaw (Kickhams)