Goals prove decisive as Cappawhite retain county crown for first time

Ladies Football

Ladies Football

Cappawhite 2-9 Brian Boru’s 0-11

Cappawhite produced back to back county titles for the first time after a comprehensive four point win over favourites Brian Boru’s in Bansha on Saturday evening last in the county senior final. From the throw–in, Cappa took the game to their opponents with Sheelagh Carew, Anne O’Dwyer and Sinead Buckley in particular showing promise. An early score from fourteen year old Sinead Buckley settled the holders before Trish Hickey replied for Brian Boru’s. The Cappa midfield slowly began to dominate while the attack continuously carved openings into the Boru’s defence. Claire Mullins and Sheelagh Carew further added to the score board before Claire Grogan, Karen Barry and Trisha Hickey dissected the uprights at the other end to leave both sides deadlocked at the interval 0-7 apiece.

On the resumption, Cappa upped the tempo with Sinead Buckley and Jayne Clancy adding points. Brian Boru’s struggled to breakdown the Cappa defence where Angie McDermott, Anne O’Dwyer and Deirbhle Hennessy came to the fore. On the three quarter hour mark, Claire Mullins rifled home Cappa’s first goal to give the West side a psychological advantage leading 1-9 to 0-9. Trisha Hickey added a much needed free to bring the Clogheen side back into the game. Sheelagh Carew continued to influence the game at midfield from which incessant pressure resulted in Sinead Buckley finding the net once more to leave Cappa 2-9 to 0-10 clear. Brian Boru’s failed to reduce the deficit as Cappa deservedly held firm to be crowned deserving winners, 2-9 to 0-11 at the final whistle.

Tommy Campbell, Co. Chairman, presented the Joe McGrath Cup to the winning captain Mairead Crowe. Tommy also presented the player of the match award to Co Intermediate team captain Sheelagh Carew for her outstanding display in the game. Cappawhite now play the Waterford champions on October 6 in the Munster championship.

Cappawhite - Helen Kennedy, Ashling Loughman, Siobhan O’Neill, Deirbhle Hennessy, Ann O’Dwyer, Angie McDermott, Mary O’Dwyer, Sheelagh Carew, Aoife Ryan, Karen Mullins, Siobhan Buckley, Mairead Crowe, Siobhan Quirke, Jane Clancy, Cloidha Cummins. Subs used. Siobhan Costello, Caira Coughlan, Joan O’Doherty. Manager Derry Peters.

Brian Borus - Nora Noonan, Emily Hayden, Aoife O’Dwyer, Joe Ann Peters, Marie Clare Murphy, Jennifer Grant, Ashling Keneally, Orla Flemming, Mairead Morrissey, Linda Grogan, Clare Grogan, Eimer Myles, Sinead Kennedy, Patrica Hickey, Karen Barry.

Scorers, Cappawhite, Siobhan Buckley 1-3, Karen Mullins 1-2, Sheelagh Carew 0-2, Mairead Crowe 0-1, Jane Clancy 0-1.

Brian Borus, Patrica Hickey 0-4 frees, Clare Grogan 0-2, Sinead Kennedy 0-2, Karen Barry 0-1, Jennifer Grant 0-1, Eimear Myles 0-1. Manager John O’Gorman.

Ardfinnan turn the tables on


Co Junior A final

Ardfinnan 3-9 Templemore 1-10.

Golden was the venue on Sunday evening for the Junior A county final. Templemore beat Ardfinnan in the league final last May 4-13 to 4-5 and therefore came into this game as favourites. Ardfinnan were first to score a point before Laura Dillon added a goal. Templemore opened their account with a point after ten minutes. A thirty yard drive from Templemore’s Edel Nyland ended up in the Ardfinnan net. Templemore’s backs were in control but the steady supply of balls to the forwards was wasted time after time with at least three goal chances going a beging. Ardfinnan weathered the storm and broke up field for centre half back Clare Lambert to score a goal to leave the score at half time Ardfinnan 2-2 Templemore 1-3.

The enthusiasm and experience of the more seasoned Ardfinnan team was starting to tell and Templemore found themselves playing catch up. A forty yard free from Clare Lynes was not contested by the Templemore backs and so ended up in the back of the Templemore net. Ardfinnan scored 1-7 in the second half to Templemores 0-7 to give us a final score of 3-9 to 1-10.

Enda McDonnell, Co P.R.O., deputising for Co Chairman Tommy Campbell (a happy Mayo man) presented the Tipperary Co. Board cup to the winning captain Clare Lambert. Ardfinnan play the Cork champions on September 15. Biddy Ryan, Co. Treasure. was called on to present the player of the game award to Samantha Lambert.

Ardfinnan - Barbara Hyland, Dawn Doolin, Ashling Ryan, Emma Whelan, Paula Spillane, Clare Lambert, Amie Dudley, Samantha Lambert, Amanda Grace, Maeve Murphy, Clare Lyness, Lauren Fitzpatrick, Laura Nagle, Laura Dillon, Niamh O’Mahoney.

Scorers, Ardfinnan, Clare Lynes 1-4 , Laura Dillon 1-1, Clare Lambert 1-1, Laura Nagle 0-2, Niamh O’Mahoney 0-1.

In the Intermediate semi replay, Aherlow beat Moycarkey and now play Cahir in the County final on Saturday next September 8. Time and venue to be decided.

Other results from the weekend - Junior B Ballyporeen 3-16 Templetouhy 2-8 Mullinahone beat Thurles Sarsfields, Junior C Gorthnahoe 1-7 Cappawhite B 1-4 Junior D Drangan Clooneen beat Thurles Gaels, Thurles Gaels beat Clonmel Og.