John O’Keeffe to make championship debut against Cork

The Tipperary Senior Hurling team to play Cork on Sunday in the Munster Senior Hurling championship has one championship debutant, John O’Keeffe of Clonoulty Rossmore, who is named at left half back. Twelve of the team that started last year’s All Ireland senior hurling final are selected - the other 3 are O’Keeffe, right half back David Young and right half forward Seamus Callanan.

The team is Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange), Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), Paul Curran (Mullinahone) Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), David Young (Toomevara), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), John O’Keeffe (Clonoulty/Rossmore), Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Seamus Callanan (Drom /Inch), Noel McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney) Patrick Maher (Lorrha/Dorrha) Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone, captain), John O’Brien (Toomevara) and Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields).