Seanie Ryan point earns share of the spoils for Cappawhite

West JHC ‘A’

West JHC ‘A’

Cappawhite 1-9 Lattin-Cullen 0-12

Cappawhite and Lattin-Cullen played a draw in the Gleeson Concrete junior hurling A championship played at Sean Treacy Park on Saturday afternoon. Cappawhite can thank Seanie Ryan for grabbing a draw out of what looked like certain defeat.

Lattin-Cullen had the aid of a strong breeze in the first half but didn’t make as much use of it as they should. Also, Cappawhite had a most unexpected goal against the run of play when a fifty metre free by John English went all the way to the Lattin-Cullen net in the seventh minute. At half-time the score stood at 0-7 to 1-3.

Cappawhite must have felt when they resumed that they had contained the opposition fairly well in the first half and that the wind should blow them on to victory during the second period.

It didn’t turn out like that at all. Lattin-Cullen dominated the third quarter and added three points during the period to extend their lead to 0-10 to 1-3. They had much more purpose and determination than Cappawhite.

However, all was not lost. Seanie Ryan resurrected Cappa’s act with a point in the 16th minute and he added four more by the end of the game. In between these scores Michael Buckley scored a point. Dean O’Dwyer sent in a high ball in the 19th minute. Buckley followed it in and smashed it over the bar. It might as easily have gone into the net. These scores gave Cappawhite a final total of 1-9

During the same period Lattin-Cullen tagged on two more points to bring their tally to 0-12 and a draw was probably a fitting result, though it didn’t appear likely halfway through the second half.

As well as Seanie Ryan, Stephen Greiswood, John English and Dean O’Dwyer contributed significantly to Cappawhite’s performance, while John O’Heney, Pat Power, Evan Hanley and Brian Maguire performed well for Lattin Cullen.

Cappawhite: Franny Quinn, Damien O’Neill, Michael Ryan, Brian O’Neill, Pat Stapleton, Stephen Greiswood, Evan O’Meara, Michael O’Neill, John English (1-0), Darragh Barry, Johnny Ryan, Dean O’Dwyer, Robby Fitzgerald (0-2), Seanie Ryan (0-7), David Orr. Subs: Michael Buckley (0-1) for Robby Fitzgerald, Jason Maguire for John English, Michael O’Connor for David Orr.

Lattin-Cullen: Gerry Maguire, Stephen Martin, Shane Russell, John Kiely, James Power, Aidan Kiely (0-1), Kevin Kiely, Pat Power (0-3), Evan Hanley (0-2), Cathal Martin (0-1), Diarmuid O’Halloran (0-2), Michael Kenny, John O’Heney (0-2), Brian Maguire (0-1), John Breen. Sub: Ger Ryan for Cathal Martin.

Referee: Eamonn Browne (Kickhams)