Tipperary lady footballers lose in Armagh

Tipperary made the long trip to Silverbridge GAA Club, Armagh on Sunday last for their Tesco Homegrown National Football League Round 6 clash with Armagh.

Tipperary made the long trip to Silverbridge GAA Club, Armagh on Sunday last for their Tesco Homegrown National Football League Round 6 clash with Armagh.

In a low scoring first half, a Shauna Ryan goal helped to keep Tipperary in touch and by the interval, Armagh led by two points – 1-5 to 1-3. The Armagh goalkeeper kept out an Edel Hanley effort coming up to half-time to prevent Tipperary going in to the interval with the lead. Hanley would not be denied in the second half, raising Tipperary’s second green flag but Armagh’s greater capacity to score points ensured the home side were one point ahead as the final whistle sounded. In spite of the narrow defeat, Tipperary’s ability to go toe to toe with the table toppers Armagh will give the team confidence ahead of their last match in the League, a trip to play Sligo next weekend.

The Tipperary team lined out as follows - Helen Kennedy (Cappawhite), Katie Lyne (Moyle Rovers), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan), Sinead Delahunty (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Ann O’Dwyer (Cappawhite), Claire Carroll (Galtee Rovers), Barbara Ryan (Moyle Rovers), Jennifer Grant (Brian Boru’s), Sheelagh Carew (Cappawhite), Orlagh Walsh (Boherlahan), Mairead Morrissey (Brian Boru’s), Shauna Ryan (Ballymacarbery), Edel Hanley (Aherlow), Edith Carroll (Galtee Rovers) and Niamh Lonergan (Moyle Rovers). 

Subs: Caitriona Walsh (Moycarkey), Jayne Clancy (Cappawhite), Mary O’Dwyer (Cappawhite), Aoife Ryan

Tipperary scorers: Edel Hanley 1-4, Shauna Ryan 1-0, Jennifer Grant 0-1, Claire Carroll 0-1.

County Minor Team

Tipperary played Clare in the Munster Minor Championship on Monday last April 1st in Bansha. At time of going to print the game had not been played but check the Tipperary Ladies Football website for the result and match report - www.tipperaryladiesfootball.ie

County Under 16 Team

On Wednesday March 27th an under strength Tipperary team travelled to Mallow to play Cork in the first round of the Under 16 Munster Championship.  There was only one member of the Under 14 All-Ireland winning team still playing on the Tipperary team but this did not take from a spirited display despite being against the odds versus a strong Cork outfit.  From the throw-in, Cork’s dominance was apparent as they built up a commanding half-time lead. To their credit, Tipperary kept battling and were rewarded with three goals in the final quarter. Our first goal came from a Megan Shanahan penalty who dispatched the ball to the net with ease. Soon afterwards, a Grainne Condon free in to the danger area was met by Laura Nagle to record Tipperary’s second goal. Cork continued to dominate the game but Tipperary finished strongly by finding the net a third time thanks to a fine individual effort by Megan Shanahan.  Full time score - Cork 7-24 Tipperary 3-0.

 Team – Rachel Delahunty (Moyle Rovers), Kelly Walsh (Slievenamon), Aine Dunne (Mullinahone), Andrea Hyland (Moyle Rovers), Katie O’Donoghue (Lattin Cullen), Aoife Power (Moyle Rovers), Shania Dowling (Moyle Rovers), Aine Lyons (Slievenamon), Grainne Condon (Aherlow), Michelle McMeel (Moyle Rovers), Tara Curtin (Ballyporeen), Megan Shanahan (Moyle Rovers), Jessica Myers (Brian Borus), Laura Nagle (Ardfinnan)

 Scorers – Megan Shanahan 2-0 and Laura Nagle 1-0.

 Subs used Lara O’Dwyer (Lattin-Cullen) and Laura Morrissey (Brian Borus)

The next fixture for the Tipperary Under 16s will see us taking on Kerry in Ballylongford, Co. Kerry on Wednesday April 3rd at 2pm. Follow us on Twitter @TippLadiesFB for the result.

County Under 14 Team

Our County U14s are now Munster ‘C’ Championship bound after a very competitive and thrilling championship, where they await Clare in the final. We have complimented many great games to date with our high skill levels. May we acknowledge the performances of all the girls and a special mention of our stalwart Laura ‘Looby’ Morrissey. Throughout this campaign she’s been a role model with her accomplished displays, ably supported by her strong defensive colleagues Orla Burke, Christina Brennan, Emma Cronin, Anna Carey, Ciara Hayes & goalkeeper Hollie Corcoran. Our midfield maestro’s Kate Barlow, Lara ‘Cullen’ O’Dwyer & Aoife Gahan along with our varied attacking combinations of Sarah Duggan, Kirsty Crotty-Ryan, Kate Davey, Jean ‘Magic’ Kelly, Aoife O’Shaughnessy, Megan Coen, Emer Quirke, Niamh Keane and Molly O’Meara have enlightened us all with their majestic displays. All squads need a big panel and Sarah Corby, Claire Moore, Katelyn Flemming, Clodagh Irwin, Aoife Maher & Laura Stocksborough ensure we have some of the best girls to support any side.

Commiserations to our full back, Christine Brennan who played with Our Lady’s School, Templemore in the All Ireland Junior B Camogie Final on Friday March 29th, they were narrowly beaten by two points Final Score 1-8 0-9.

Information concerning Ladies Football will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at ladiesfootballtipperary@gmail.com before 8pm on Sunday. Visit the Tipperary Ladies Football web site at www.tipperaryladiesfootball.ie to keep up to date with all the latest news in 
Tipperary Ladies Football.