County titles for Powerstown-Lisronagh and Fethard-Killusty but double disappointment for Cashel

Community Games

Community Games

A total of eight teams paraded into Semple Stadium, Thurles on Bank Holiday Monday, June 3 to contest the annual county finals of the Community Games GAA events and at the end of five hours of some spectacular displays the four county titles were won by: Powerstown Lisronagh u10 mixed football, Fethard Killusty u12 girls football, Nenagh u14 Camogie and Roscrea u11 Hurling teams giving a 2 all North/South result.

The first match was Powerstown Lisronagh v Ballina, these were two well matched teams with nothing separating them in the first half. Daire Lutrell and Peter McGarry scored 0-1 each for the South side while Cathal O’Donnell and Rian Cleary had a similar score for Ballina leaving the teams level at half time. It was nip and tuck again in the second half with some wonderful defending from both sides but the speedy and determined Dean English scored a super goal to take the title for Powerstown. Final score was 1-2 to 0-2.

Gold medals won by Gerard McGrath, Dean English, Paddy O’Keefe, Peter McGarry, Jake Forristal, John Paul Phelan, Shane Ryan, David Killen, Sean McEntegart, Daire Luttrell, Riain O’Halloran, Joseph Cummins, Killian Butler, Harry Lane, Kate Moore, Triona Ryan, Joseph Golden, Lauren Duggan, Noah Kiely. Manager Michael McGarry

In the U-12 girls football final the young ladies from Fethard-Killusty had already created history when they won their South final becoming the only Ladies football team from Fethard to compete for a Community Games county title and were anticipating a tough game from their oppponents Moycarkey/Borris.
The weather conditions were perfect and with great support the Fethard girls settled the faster of the two teams. With the wide open spaces of Semple Stadium suiting the girls, they soon asserted themselves kicking some great points and snatching a goal to lead 1-5 to 0-1 at half time. At the start of the second half Moycarkey came more into the game and only some safe hands and tenacious tackling from the  goalie and backs stopped their opponents closing the gap. It was to prove the springboard for many of their scores moving the ball quickly from defence to attack and with the midfield and forward line in imperious form scoring some beautiful points and adding another goal they eventually ran out comfortable winners on a scoreline of 2-11 to 0-1.

Scores were Ciara Connolly 1-3, Leah Coen 1-1, Lucy Spillane 0-4, Ava Hickey 0-2, Kaylin O’Donnell 0-1. 
Their manager, Micheal Spillane and selectors, Annette Connolly, Jackie O’Flynn and Mark Prout must be complimented on the tremendous work they have done during the year. Cheers echoed almost to Slievenamon as Captain, Lucy Spillane accepted the perpetual shield and gold medals were presented to the following team members:- Ellie Devaney, Aoife Morrissey, Alison Connolly, Leah Coen, Emma Lyons, Carrie Davey, Ciara Connolly, Laura Harrington, Aine Ryan, Nell Spillane, Kaylin O’Donnell, Lucy Spillane (Capt) Hannah Dolan, Emma Geoghan, Ava Hickey, Rachel Prout, Caoimhe O’Meara, Laura Kiely, Ava Ward. Emma Geoghan was unavoidably absent.

U11 Hurling

Cashel started slowly while Roscrea were totally dominant in the first half. The Cashel full back line of Alex Dunne, Eoghan Murphy and Liam Corcoran together with goalkeeper Ross Whelan played their hearts out to keep Roscrea in sight. The score at half time was 1-6 to Roscrea, 0-1 to Cashel. The story of the second half was Cashel’s brave but ultimately unsuccessful fight back. Goals from T.J. Barron and Ben White meant the result was in the balance until the final whistle but in the end Roscrea emerged deserving winners. Best for Cashel were young Ronan Connolly, Eoghan Murphy and a man of the match performance from Ross Whelan in goal. The final score was 1-9 to 2-2. Many hearts went out to the brave boys from Cashel as this was the third successive year for several of them to reach the county final only to be defeated by the narrowest of margins especially losing by just 0-1 to Cloughjordan last year. This team never stopped trying, they were a credit to their mentors and they will be back again in 2014 if the age limit of 31st July, does not prevent some of them. They also had the treat of Pa Burke, a member of Tipperary Senior Hurling team dropping in to present the medals and have a word with the competitors.

Silver medals were won by: Ronan Connolly, Hermann O Donoghue, Alex Dunne,Cian McGrath, Cathal Quinn, Fabian Ryan, Callum O’Gorman Ryan, Liam Corcoran, David Clarke, Cory Hynes, T.J. Barron, Evan Moloney, Ethan Gayson Molloy, Donal Ryan, Ben White, Eoghan Murphy, Patrick Quinlan, Andrew Bourke, Ross Whelan Mentors Donal Ryan, Joe Moloney, Seanie Barron.

The U14 Camogie

This was a repeat of last year’s final between Cashel and the title holders, Nenagh who successfully defended their crown for the third year in a row. There were many good displays of skill and coordination from the Cashel girls but luck was not on their side and the scores just would not accumulate despite several gallant efforts. Nenagh were an exceptionally strong team that everything went well for and they had the advantage of some very experienced players . However Cashel lost nothing in defeat, it is still a wonderful achievement to be the second best team in the county. They were very worthy winners of silver medals. Team consisted of: Laura McGrath, Ciara Moloney, Eimear Allison, Megan White, Jane Grogan, Jane Anne Fitzgerald, Aine O’Dwyer, Jill Shanahan, Nora Quinlan, Caoimhe Perdue, Kate Gayson Molloy, Rebecca Delahunty, Jessica Fitzell, Clodagh O Dwyer, Roisin Heffernan, Abi Muldoon. Manager Michael Perdue.