Tipperary u-14s spurn chances as they surrender title to Waterford

Ladies Football

Ladies Football

Tipperary Ladies under 14 team’s effort at winning three in a row Munster titles came unstuck in windswept Fraher Field, Dungarvan on Saturday last.

Waterford won the toss and elected to play with the strong wind blowing in off the sea. Tipp contained the much taller and physical stronger Waterford girls for the first ten minutes of the game holding them scoreless.

But the constant supply of ball to the Waterford forwards soon paid rich dividends. Tipperary forwards were guilty of missing some scoring chances with erratic shooting. Half time score Waterford 3-5 Tipperary 0-0.

With wind assistance for the second half Tipperary soon found their rhythm and applied plenty of pressure on the Waterford defence. Full forward Orla O’Dwyer from Boherlahan had the measure of the Waterford defence and scored 1-3 without reply.

A great solo run from Sinead Buckley (Cappawhire) from her own half back line straight to the square at the other end of the field resulted in her been pulled down for a penalty which also resulted in her picking up a nasty injury. The well struck penalty rebounded off the cross bar and the in rushing Tipperary forward volleyed the ball wide.

This seemed to sum up Tipperary’s day, lady luck did not travel with them for this fixture and Waterford had bags full of luck on the day with every bounce of the ball kind to them.

Waterford’s last score emphasised this when a shot for a point was held up in the wind and fell short to dip under the Tipp cross bar, Final score Waterford 4-6 Tipperary 1-3.

This finishes Tipperary’s involvement in this competition. Our thanks to all the girls who attended for trials, those on the team and the extended panel. A lot of these girls will have a bright future in Ladies Football at club and county level in Tipperary.

This was a very harmonious squad due to the charismatic approach of their manager Biddy Ryan (Ardfinnan), ably assisted by her selectors Mary O’Shea (Mullinahone), Sinead Condon (Emly), Paddy McMeel (Moyle Rovers) and Ashling O’Dwyer (Moyle Rovers). A special word of thanks to the parents who gave of their time ferrying the girls to training and games and to all the clubs that made their fields and facilities available for training.

This squad will stay together to compete in the National Under 14 Blitz on Saturday May 19, venue as yet to be confirmed.

Team - Claire Moore (Moyle Rovers), Aine Dunne (Mullinahone), Cliona Collins (Moyle Rovers), Ashling Deely (Clonmel Commercials), Shania Dowling (Moyle Rovers), Aoife Corcoran Capt (Cahir), Laura Morrissey (Lattin-Cullen), Aoife Hoctor (Templemore), Lara O’Dwyer (Lattin–Cullen), Aoibhe O’Shea (Mullinahone), Sinead Buckley (Cappawhite), Caoimh Condon (Brian Borus), Eimear Loughman (Cappawhite), Orla O’Dwyer (Boherlahan), Jean Kelly (Cappawhite). Subs - Emer McCarthy (Aherlow), Michelle McMeel (Moyle Rovers), Kate O’Donoghue (Lattin-Cullen), Evereene Everard (Moyle Rovers), Heather Phelan (Sliabh Na mBan), Grainne Condon (Aherlow), Olivia Hogan (Moycarkey), Sarah Buckley (Templemore), Dearbhla Fitzgerald (Moyle Rovers), Sarah Duggan (Arravale Rovers), Aoife Crosse (Boherlahan), Bronagh McGrath (Moyle Rovers), Roisin Finnane (Galtee Rovers), Hazel McAuliffe (Nenagh).