Brave Davins effort not enough to stop Sars

davins thomas meehan and sars tommy doyle
Carrick Davins’ bid for senior hurling silverware came up short at Clonmel on Sunday evening

Carrick Davins’ bid for senior hurling silverware came up short at Clonmel on Sunday evening

They suffered an eleven points defeat at the hands of last year’s county and Munster club champions, Thurles Sarsfields, in the final of the Clean Ireland Recycling O Riain Cup (SHB) final.

Sarsfields were odds-on favourites to lift the trophy for the first time, and even though they fielded only five of their regular senior squad, they carried far too much in attack for a Davins side which battled gamely but which failed to turn a decent share of possession into scores.

After 20 minutes the sides were level 0-6 each, Davins having come from three/one down by the fifth minute to be five/three clear by the thirteenth. Two Pa Bourke points nudged Sarsfields ahead and then, in the 21st minute, Pa Crone netted for Sarsfields, after a good run by Tommy Doyle. Jamie Stapleton hit home Sarsfields second goal.

Davins showed their fighting spirit with a great rally in the closing stages of the half that yielded points by Shane Butler and JJ Butler and a Gerard Robinson goal in the 29th minute after Sarsfields goalie Kevin Smith had done well to keep a first Davins effort out.

Davins trailed by 1-9 to 2-7 at the interval

However, there was only one team in it, scoring-wise, in the second half, Pa Crone’s second goal in the 34th minute after a defensive error, putting the Thurles lads firmly in control. Davins battled to the finish and forfeited points in their pursuit of a rallying goal. They had fine performances from Willie O’Dwyer, Lee Mackey, Stephen Cronin, while further upfield JJ Butler, Noel Butler and Pa Harris did well. Thurles Sarsfields - K Smith; P Dunne, K O Gorman, B O Dwyer; M Cahill, D Corbett, A Ryan; S Cahill(0-1), T Doyle; J Stapleton(1-1), J Corbett, J Maher; P Bourke(0-10,5fs), P Crone(2-2), C Treacy(0-4, 1f); Subs- M O’Dwyer, R O’Shea; E Russell O Gorman.

Davins – M Hackett; K Condon, L Mackey, S Cronin; W O’Dwyer, R McGrath, M Ryan; P Harris(0-2), A Foran(0-1); N Butler(0-2), G Robinson(1-1), J J Butler(0-6,3fs); S Moroney(0-1), J J Ryan, S Butler(0-1); Subs- J Moroney, O Power