Emly best in West Tipperary junior hurling

Emly beat Cappawhite 2-13 to 2-11 in the West Tipperary junior hurling championship.

Emly beat Cappawhite 2-13 to 2-11 in the West Tipperary junior hurling championship.

This was a strange game. It was closely contested in the first half with Emly slightly ahead at the interval. Then Cappawhite took off in the second half and banged in two goals and seemed home and hosed. But, Emly came back in the last ten minutes and got 2-2 without reply to win.

The teams exchanged points in the first half with neither side ever getting more than a point ahead and after all their effort they were level after twenty-three minutes. In the remaining minutes Pat Buckley pointed a free to give Emly the edge by 0-7 to 0-6 at half-time.

Cappawhite got a great start on the resumption when Paul Fitzgerald banged in a goal following a pass from Seanie Ryan immediately after the throw-in,

Emly overcame the shock and were only a point behind by the tenth minute when Davy Orr scored a second goal for Cappawhite. There was a melee in front of the Emly goal and Orr saw his opportunity and took it. Cappa followed up with three points and were ahead by 2-11 to 0-11 after eighteen minutes.

But, although they looked dead and buried, Emly resurrected a mighty act for the last ten minutes or so. Somehow they got the ball up to their forwards and in the 20th minute Michael O’Donnell scored a cracking goal to indicate life returning. Three minutes later Pat Buckley added a second and suddenly the sides were level.

With a minute to go Buckley scored a free to give them the lead and in the final minute Michael O’Donnell sent over a second for a two-point victory on a score line of 2-13 to 2-11.Emly: Philip Long, Christopher Hennessy, Karl Burke, Patrick McGrath, John Hennessy, Sean Hennessy, Jason McCarthy, Pat Buckley (1-6), Declan Hennessy, Pa Hennessy, Michael O’Donnell (1-1), David Byrne (0-4), Liam O’Donnell, Ned O’Meara (0-1). James Ryan (0-1). Subs: Joey Lonergan for Liam O’Donnell, Paddy Connors for John Hennessy.

Cappawhite: Michael R. Buckley, Donal O’Neill, Michael R Wall, Brian O’Neill, Denis Kelly, Pat O’Neill (0-2), Noel Ryan, John McGrath (0-1), Paddy Julian (0-1), Cian Creedon, Sean Ryan (0-4), Joseph Ryan, Cian Murnane, Paul Fitzgerald (1-1), David Orr (1-2). Subs: Robbie Fitzgerald for Cian Murnane, Dinny Tierney for Davy Orr.

Referee: John O’Brien (Arravale Rovers).