Abbey CBS make a losing start in Harty Cup bid

Sam Dawson

Sam Dawson

Harty Cup Munster Colleges Hurling

West Limerick Colleges 1-17 Abbey CBS 1-12.

Back in the Harty Cup for the first time in seven years, the Abbey CBS, Tipperary, made a losing start to their campaign on Wednesday last at Kilmallock when going down by five points to the combined forces of West Limerick Colleges.

The match began at an intense pace with both sides keen for a win in this opening game of the cup.

West Limerick Colleges began brighter putting two points over in the opening minutes before the Abbey responded with two points from county minor panellist, Donal O’Dwyer, to even the score.

It was an even first half with fine performances from Abbey players Daragh Fanning, Sean Cunningham and Tom O’Donoghue.

With the sides trading points it remained tight until two minutes from the interval when Colleges landed their goal to go four up, 1-7 to 0-6.

However, a great response from the Abbey saw Darren Neville putting over a point to bring the Tipperary school to within three points at half time.

The second half started promisingly for the Abbey with Donal O’Dwyer once again putting a point over from a free to reduce the margin to just two. However, Colleges responded with a great point from midfielder, Jamie Butler, who pointed two side lines during the game and played brilliantly.

The Abbey continued to chase the game in the second half but could never quite overhaul the Limerick Colleges.

The lead stretched out to five points before Donal O’Dwyer again cut the margin to three with a brace of pointed frees. Colleges eventually went eight up before Donal O’Dwyer goaled a late twenty metre free to leave an end margin of five.

Teams and scores

Abbey CBS: Eoghan McNamara (Doon); David Finnane (Galtee Rvs.), Sean Cunningham (Lattin\Cullen), Tom O’Donoghue (Lattin\Cullen); Shane Power (Galtee Rvs.), James Hogan (Arravale Rvs.), Daragh Fanning (Pallasgreen); Eoin O’Connell (Lattin\Cullen) 0-1 and Cormac O’Donoghue (Lattin\Cullen); Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), Cian Hehir (Holycross), Darren Neville (Lattin\Cullen) 0-1; Donal O’Dwyer (Eire Og Annacarty) 1-9, Mark Russell (Lattin\Cullen) 0-1, Ciaran Lowry (Arravale Rvs.). Subs used: Pearse Richardson (Arravale Rvs.), Tony Byrnes (Arravale Rvs.), Darragh Crowe (Arravale Rvs.), David Cussen (Galbally) and John Kearns (Galbally).

West Limerick Colleges: David Lynch (Croagh/Kilfiny); Damien O’Donovan (Granagh/Ballingarry), Sean Flanagan (Feonagh/Castlemahon), Brian Hannon (Croagh/Kilfiny); Andrew Scully (Askeaton/Ballysteen), Eric O’Connor (Newtownshandrum), Peter Mulcahy (Kileedy); Darren Jones (St. Mary’s/Sean Finn’s) and Jamie Butler (Feoghnagh/Castlemahon); Eoin Hurley (Newcastlewest), David Condron (Granagh/Ballingarry), Michael Sexton (Templeglantine); Stephen Casey (Croagh/Kilfiny), Seamus Flanagan (Feonagh/Castlemahon), Damian Lacey (Dromcollogher/Broadford).