Ladies are county minor ‘B’ champions following super win

Moyle Rovers

Moyle Rovers

Moyle Rovers are Ladies Football county B Minor champions courtesy of a fine win over Brian Borus last Sunday in Ardfinnan. This was a magnificent team win played with great heart and smart football.

Brian Borus opened brightly and put our backs to the test. Some great defending and blockdowns prevented certain scores. Moyle Rovers then settled and following good interplay Niamh Brennan opened the scoring with a well taken point after five minutes. Soon afterwards Megan Shanahan was bought down for a penalty and the resultant kick was saved by the Brian Borus keeper. Rosin McGrath had a wonderful point soon after to lift spirits.

This was followed by points by Megan Shanahan and Niamh Brennan. Caroline Quirke then had a goal shot blocked by the Boru’s keeper and Megan Shanahan was on hand to score the rebound. This left the score at 1-4 to 0-0 after twelve minutes.

Rachael Delahunty made a great save to frustrate the opposition further. Top quality points from Sinead Kenrick, Sarah Everard and Aoife Power left the score at half time Moyle rovers 1-8 to 0-1.

Brian Borus had the opening score of the second half. Megan Shanahan then scored our opening score. A well worked move by a number of players resulted in Sinead Kenrick scoring a well taken goal. Moyle Rovers continued to apply the pressure and it resulted in a very well taken goal by Caroline Quirke. The final score came from a long delivery by Orla Ryan which was punched home by Niamh Brenan. Final score Moyle rovers 4-9 Brian Borus 1-2.

Captain Gillian Hickey accepted the cup from County Chairman Tommy Campbell which rounded off a great season for our club. Rachael Dealhunty was again superb in goal with a super save in the first half. Gillian Hickey played a captain’s part leading by example with fierce determination. Hazel Shanahn was “Cailin an Cluiche” at full back closing out numerous attacks and danger.

Leanne Ryan was solid and dependable in the corner. Our half back line of Laura Grace, Aoife Power and Ciara Ryan were tremendous, especially in the first half when put to the test. At midfield Rosin McGrath and Orla Ryan won this key battleground to launch the victory.

Half forwards Danni Di Ruzza, Sarah Everard and Sinead Kenrick worked tirelessly and set up the scoring chances for our clinical full forward line of Megan Shanahan, Caroline Quirke and Niamh Brennan. Aiofe Cosgrave, Ruth O’Dwyer, Hazel Boland and Larissa Vent made their contributions to a magnificent victory when called on. Well done to all concerned in a perfect ending to the club playing season for 2012.

Team management of Eamonn Power, Francis Ryan, Paudie Everard and Keith Delahunty deserve great credit for preparing this team for a near perfect display on final day.

Our team and all players who contributed to this success were as follows; Rachael Delahunty, Gillian Hickey (Captain), Hazel Shanahan, Leanne Ryan, Laura Grace, Aoife Power (0-1), Ciara Ryan, Orla Ryan, Rosin McGrath (0-1), Danni di Ruzza, Sarah Everard (0-1), Sinead Kenrick (1-2), Megan Shanahan (1-2), Caroline Quirke (1-0), Niamh Brennan 1-2), Aoife Cosgrave, Ruth O’Dwyer, Hazel Boland, Larissa Vent, Heather Hammond, Evrena Everard, Shania Dowling, Michelle McMeel, Derbhile Fitzgearld, Bronagh McGrath, Claire Moore, Ciara O’Loughlin, Abby Kiely, Gemma O’Dwyer (inj), Aisling O’Donovan (inj), Andrea Hyland (inj), Lorraine Williams (inj), Sinead Cosgrave (inj). This brings our playing year to a close after almost a full year of action on the playing fields. To all our administrators, players, mentors, supporters and all who helped in any way thank you all very much. The Club AGM takes place on Wednesday December 12 th at 8.00pm.

We wish our neighbouring club Cahir all the best in the All Ireland Intermediate Club final next Sunday. A victory would be a great boost for Ladies football in Tipperary and we wish them all the best.

The Camogie Club AGM takes place this Wednesday, December 5th at 8.00pm in Monroe. All welcome.