Tipp win Plate in under 17 hurling event

The annual Under 17 Inter-County Hurling Tournament took place in Mallow on Saturday August 31.

The annual Under 17 Inter-County Hurling Tournament took place in Mallow on Saturday August 31.

Under 17 is the final layer of the Thurles Fresh Milk sponsored Academy programme and caters for emerging Minor Hurlers for 2014.

Eight teams in total took to the field over a day long series of matches in the Mallow GAA Club complex. Under the management of Liam Cahill, Sean Corbett, John McCormack and Eoin Brislane the squad had a six week training programme in preparation for the tournament. Based in Dr Morris Park they had pre-planned coaching sessions and challenge games to finalise their squad for the tournament.

Tipperary were grouped with Kilkenny, Galway and Cork for three very competitive and worthwhile matches. In the first match Tipperary had a very deserving four point win over Kilkenny which set them up nicely for their second game with Galway. Injuries took their toll in the second half of this game and Tipp had to give way to a good Galway side and lost out by two points. They recovered to record a good victory over Cork in their third. Two wins and one defeat meant scoring differences came in to play and here Tipperary lost out on a place in the Cup Final to Kilkenny by a two point score difference. They advanced however to contest a good game with Clare in the Plate Final. Down at half time Tipperary came back strongly in the second half to have a convincing victory and take the Plate decider. The Tipperary team was captained by goalkeeper Gavin Ryan Upperchurch Drombane and the rest of the squad was;

Richie Gunn, St Marys; Conor Ryan, Nenagh Eire Og; Ribbie Long, Drom Inch; Ciaran Flaherty, Toomevara; Andrew Coffey, Nenagh Eire Og; Robert Houlihan Newport; Ronan Heffernan, Clonoulty Rossmore, Billy McCarthy, Thurles Sarsfields; Niall Heffernan, Moycarkey Borris; Conor Floyd, Newport; Michael Dunne, Mullinahone; Pa Ryan Newport; Peter Gavin, Holycross Ballycahill; Paul Ryan, Toomevara; Bill O’Connell, Loughmore Castleiney; Chris McCullagh, Moycaarkey Borris, Barry Cooney, Ballylooby Castlegrace; Ryan Murphy, Cahir; Seanie O’Halloran, Golden Kilfeakle; Shane Luttrell, Moyle Rovers; Liam Ryan, St Marys; Jonathan Walsh, Cashel King Cormacs; Killian Loughman, Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams; Ronan Teehan, Gortnahoe Glengoole; Brendan Larkin, Drom Inch; Tomas Pollard, Ballingarry; Sean Butler Thurles Sarsfields; Gerard Halligan, Arravale Rovers; Andy Dunne Burgess; and Tomas Skehan, Thurles Sarsfields. Well done to all for a fine effort and thanks to Thurles Fresh Milk for their continued support