Officers elected at County Tipperary GAA Convention

Durlas Og’s John Smith is the new Coaching Officer for Tipperary GAA Board.

Durlas Og’s John Smith is the new Coaching Officer for Tipperary GAA Board.

He was the unanimous choice of delegates to the county convention, succeeding Nicholas Moroney of St Patrick’s (Drangan-Clooneen) whose term of office ended at convention.

John is the current Youth officer with the board, a position that will be now filled at by the board after Christmas.

John’s selection was the only change in the officer board for the coming year.

Nicholas Moroney thanked all who had helped him during his term of office and urged clubs to give every juvenile player the opportunity to play football.

“All the clubs play hurling but not all play football. With so many lads having to emigrate in these times, it could be an advantage to a young lad to have played a bit of football when he goes abroad. It is not an expensive game for clubs to be involved in and I would urge them to give football attention. Being able to play a bit of football could help a lad get a job if he emigrates”, he added.

Officers elected (all unopposed) – President, Tommy Barrett (Sarsfields);

Vice-Presidents – Matt Hassett (Toomevara), Michael Maher (Holycross-Ballycahill);

Chairman – Sean Nugent (Kilsheelan-Kilcash);

Vice-Chairman – Michael Bourke (Upperchurch-Drombane);

Assistant Secretary – Tom Maher, (Moyne-Templetuohy);

Treasurer – Eamon Buckley(Lattin-Cullen)

Assistant Treasurer – John Donovan(Thurles Gaels);

Development Officer – Jimmy Minogue(Eire Og, Nenagh);

Coaching Officer – John Smith(Durlas Og);

Irish Language and Culture Officer – Seosamhain ni Cathaill(Sarsfields);

PRO – Ger Ryan, (Templederry);

Central Council Rep. – John Costigan (J K Brackens);

Munster Council Reps- P J Maher(Boherlahan-Dualla), Donal Shanahan(Toomevara)