Lonergan leads by example as St Mary’s cruise to title

South MHC ‘A’ Final

South MHC ‘A’ Final

St Mary’s 4-18

Moyle Rovers 1-10

What was expected to be a close contest between neighbouring clubs in the Chadwicks-sponsored South MHC ‘A’ final turned into a runaway victory for St Marys over Moyle Rovers.

Jason Lonergan was superb for the winners, scoring 14 points, while Liam Ryan, Colman Kennedy, Daren Cass, Christopher Walsh, Liam Murchan and sub Paraic Looran were other stalwarts.

For Moyle Rovers, Philip Quirke, Shane Luttrell, Kevin O’Donnell, Brian Gleeson, Alex Owens and Ross Mulcahy tried their best but St Marys first touch was on song as they brought back the Jack Ahearne Cup for the second time in three years to Clonmel.

Alec Owens opened the scoring for Rovers with a point from a free. St Mary’s captain Jason Lonergan opened their scoring with a point while team-mate Liam Ryan quickly added a second. 
Lonergan added a further twopoints, one from a free. Alec Owens replied with a point from play, but it Jason Lonergan tapped over 3 more points. Owens scored two more for Rovers to put three points between the sides.  

Lonergan added another for the town side, while a misdirected puck out from Rovers goalie Philip Quirke was sent straight back over the bar by Liam
Murchan. Again it was Rovers sole scorer Alec Owens who pointed from a free.  

Lonergan added a further two point to his tally while Brian Walsh scored the final point of the half for St Marys.  Half Time Score St Mary’s 0-12 Moyle Rovers 0-5.  

Moyle Rovers came out fighting in the second half, Centre back Kevin O’Donnell scored two long distance points while Owens added two more.

Then St Marys tested Philip Quirke’s abilities in goal with two one-on-one opportunities but Quirke pulled off fantastic saves to keep his side in with a chance.

Rovers managed to hold St Marys scoreless for nine minutes of the second half but then Jason Lonergan yet again came forward to add four more points. With seven points between the sides heading into the final ten minutes, Moyle Rovers needed to get a goal. Sub Paraic Looran added another point for St Marys and Brian Walsh scored a fantastic goal. Within seconds Ross Mulcahy played a ball across St Marys goalmouth, Rian Clancy pulled and sent the ball to the back of the net.

At the other end St marys converted a penalty for their second goal. Owens replied with a point with Cathal McKeever and Liam Murchan hitting goals for St Marys
Ross Mulcahy scored a consolation point for Rovers.

It was appropriate, that St Mary’s captain and top scorer Jason Lonergan scored the final point of the game.

St Marys - Michael Boland, Richie Gunne, Sean Gunne, Robert Lyons, Ciaran Brady, Colman Kennedy, Liam Ryan, Jason Lonergan, Darren Cass, David Collins, Cathal McKeever, Liam Murchan, Eric Walsh, Christopher Walsh, Brian Walsh. Sub Paraic Looram.

Moyle Rovers - Philip Quirke, Brian Norris, Shane Luttrell, Aidan Butler, Paddy Morrissey, Kevin O’Donnell, Alec Owens, Brian Gleeson, Stephen Quirke, Ross Mulcahy, Dominic Walsh, Shane Lonergan, Padraig Keating, Conor Tobin, Denis McGrath, Subs Rian Clancy, Danny Owens.

Referee - Willie Barrett (Ardfinnan).