Tipp will be bidding for three-in-a-row

County Bord na nOg

County Bord na nOg

The All Ireland U/16 inter county hurling tournament which is hosted annually by Tipperary Bórd na Nog was launched on Friday in Dundrum House Hotel. This tournament is in its 24th year with Tipperary heading the Roll of Honour with eleven titles, followed by Galway with seven, Kilkenny with three and Clare and Wexford with one each.

Tipperary also holds the distinction of being the only county to record three successive titles in 1988, ‘89 and ‘90 and this year they are bidding to repeat that achievement as they are the holders for the past two years.

At the launch were Bórd chairman Barry O’Brien, Tipp Supporters Club chairman John Tierney and special guest Tipp All Star and Young Hurler of the year Brendan Maher.

The draw for the tournament which takes place on Saturday August 27 and Sunday 28 is -

Group 1, Offaly, Antrim and Limerick

Group 2, Clare, Dublin and Tipperary

Group 3, Kilkenny, Laois and Waterford

Group 4, Wexford, Galway and Cork

The semi final pairings are Group 1 v group 3 and group 2 v group 4.

This year the league rounds and semi finals are being played in venues within the Mid division with the both the cup and shield finals taking place in Semple Stadium (if available) on Sunday August 28. The officers of Bórd wish to thank the young players from Clonoulty Rossmore and Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kichams who added to the occasion in wearing the colours of the participating counties.

After the draw Brendan Maher addressed the audience and gave some lovely words of advice and wished the Bórd well with the running of the forthcoming tournament.

Premier 12’s Football End Games Saturday May 21.

Resulting from a ruling made at Congress last year the U/12 Championships in both codes have been abolished and replaced with games which consist of no more than eleven aside. It is envisaged that all participants get a minimum of half game and that more emphasis is placed on fun and participation.

So on next Saturday 32 teams will saviour the atmosphere in Semple Stadium.

The program of events commence at 10am and the officer board of Bórd na nOg request that mentors with all teams ensure that their players are out on the pitch at least five minutes prior to the commencement of the advertised start time.

The first games commence at 10am and the last of the finals are scheduled for 5pm.

At time of going to press the following clubs have qualified to participate

Mid : Boherlahan Dualla, Drom/Inch, Durlas Og (3), Durlas Og (4), Holycross Ballycahill, Moycarkey Borris, Moyne Templetuohy,

North : Burgess, Kilruane MacDonnaghs, Eire Og Nenagh, Shannon Rovers

West: Arravale Rovers, Arravale Rovers (B),Cappawhite, Cashel King Cormacs, Cashel King.Cormacs (B), Emly, Golden Kilfeacle, , Rockwell.