Young stars of the future receive their awards

West Tipp Bord na nOg

West Tipp Bord na nOg

The Annual West Tipp Bord na nOg medal presentation for winning captains night took place at a well attended Dundrum House Hotel on Friday night last where no fewer than thirty eight victorious competition winners received their medals.

The presentation function which was chaired by Liam O’Dwyer of Arravale Rvs saw top of the winners list being held by Cashel KC who assembled six Divisional titles (two football and four hurling) followed by Rosegreen, Clonoulty/Rossmore, Galtee Rvs, K.Kickhams and Cappawhite , all multiple winners.

Also present to receive awards were the eight West Tipp representatives on Tipp’s All Ireland Minor Hurling winning squad, Dylan Fitzelle and Simon Delaney(Cashel KC), Jimmy Maher and Sean Maher (Clonoulty/Rossmore), Josh Keane (Golden/Kilfeacle), Seanie Ryan (Sean Treacys), Tom Fox and Donal O’Dwyer (Eire Og) along with West Tipp’s Minor Hurling selector, Brian Horgan (Kickhams)

This year’s recipient of the Sammy Ryan Perpetual Trophy to refereeing was Mike Duffy of the Arravale Rvs club who was presented with his award by Steve O’Donnell of the West Tipp Referees Association.

Divisional Winners and Captains

Cashel KC (6) Brian Davern (Peil Na Nog), Eoghan Connolly (U12 Football Shield), Tomas Skeffington (U12A Hurling), Michael O’Meara (U12C Hurling), Danny Wade (U14A Hurling League), Ross Bonnar (U13 Garda Cup Hurling).

Rosegreen (5), Eoin McLoughlin (U12D Football), Brigid Quinlan/Caoimih Perdue, (U12F Football), James Ryan (U14B Football Ch’ship), James Walsh (U14C Hurling Ch’ship), Jack Walsh (U14C Hurling League).

Clonoulty/Rossmore (4), Jimmy Ryan Con (Feile Na Gael), Dylan Quirke (U14A Hurling Ch’ship), David Egan (U16A Hurling Ch’ship), Gary Donnelly (U16A Hurling League).

Galtee Rvs (4), Adam McGrath (U12A Football), Dara Egan (U14A Football Ch’ship), Kenneth Collins (U16A Football Ch’ship), David Byron (U14B Hurling League).

Kickhams (4), Nathan Ryan (U14 Football Shield), Alan O’Brien (U12D Hurling), Michael McCormack (U14 Hurling Shield), Killian Loughman (U16B Hurling Ch’ship)

Cappawhite (4), Gearoid Ryan (U12E Football), Pat Barry (U12E Hurling), Brendan Murphy (U12 Hurling Shield), Tim Meagher (U14B Hurling Ch’ship).

Arravale Rvs (2), Fergus Halligan (U14 Football Plate), Conal Donavan (U13 Hurling Garda Plate)

Eire Og (2), Paul Devlin (U12 Football Plate), Paul Burle (U12B Hurling).

Sean Treacys (2), Christy Egan (U12 Hurling Plate), Simon Maher (U14 Hurling Plate).

Emly (1) Andrew Vance (U14C Football Ch’ship), Sologhead (1) Jack Redigan (U12C Football), Lattin/Cullen (1) Danny Cunningham (U12B Football), Rockwell Rvs (1) Adam Gallagher (U12F Hurling), Emly/Treacys Combo (1) Sean Burke Emly (U16B Football Ch’ship)

On Sunday night, November 18, the final of the Primary School Quiz took place in the Community Centre in Golden and while the number of schools attending was down on previous years the quality of the answering among the participating schools was top class.

After a titanic struggle Thomastown NS emerged the winners to take the Primary School Quiz Shield with 58 marks followed in second place by their neighbours Golden NS on 55marks with Mount Bruis NS in third place with 51 marks.

Rearcross NS took fourth place with Clonoulty NS in fifth place. All five teams go forward to the County Final at the Dome in Thurles on December 9th.


Garda Cup U15 Football Semi Finals (Extra Time)

Saturday December 1

Arravale Rvs v Clonoulty/Rossmore or Lattin/Cullen, S.T.Pk 3pm, David Grogan

Rockwell Rvs v Galtee Rvs, New Inn 3pm, John Ryan (Bob).