Colin Ryan winner keeps Abbey hopes alive

Munster Colleges SHC ‘B’

Munster Colleges SHC ‘B’

Abbey CBS 0-12

Gaelcholaiste, Cork 0-11

On Wednesday, October 19 a college cracker took place at Ballygiblin between the Abbey CBS Tipperary and Gaelcholaiste, Mhuire, Cork in the Munster Colleges’ senior hurling ‘B’ championship. At the end of a thrilling hour the Abbey came with a precious one-point win to keep their chances of making the knock-outs very much alive.

Early in the first half the Abbey defence was under prolonged pressure from the Gaelcholaiste attack as Sean O hAinfin and Cathal O Maolain got on the score sheet. Eventually Abbey’s Donal O’Dwyer opened their account with a point from a free.

Gaelcholaiste’s Cathal O Maolain and Abbey’s Eoin O’Connell exchanged points. An injury to Sean Mac Cuniain allowed the players to get a well-earned breather. Gaelcholaiste’s Marc O Ceilleachoir showed great skill when he scored from a free on the side line.

Abbey’s Ciaran Lowry brought the deficit back to one after a good passing movement. Gaelcholaiste’s backs appeared to tire and gave away several frees which Abbey’s Donal O’Dwyer didn’t miss but two replies from Gaelcholaiste’s Cathal O Ceilleachoir just before half time left the sides six point apiece at the interval.

Within the first five minutes of the restart the Abbey had two chances of getting ahead but Ciaran Lowry’s and Liam Nagle’s efforts went wide. However, Gaelcholaiste’s Cathal O Geilleachoir took his opportunity and put the Cork school ahead. Abbey responded with Donal O’Dwyer from a placed ball.

The Abbey backs were also tiring now and gave away a free which Marc O Ceilleachoir, scored once again. Ed O’Meara was battling hard on his ‘65’ and won a well deserved free for the Abbey which resulted in Ciaran Lowry putting over a great point. Once more the sides were level in this thrilling contest.

As the drama continued Gaelcholaiste’s Marc O Ceilleachoir’s free edged his side in front once again but Abbey’s Colin Ryan once more tied up the game. The sides were very evenly matched with Abbey’s Donal O’Dwyer and Gaelcholaiste’s Marc O Ceilleachoir both proving flawless from the placed ball.

The sides were inseparable with a share of the spoils looking likely. Johnny Lowry missed a great goal chance for the Abbey just a few minutes from full time. However, in the closing stages of the match Colin Ryan proved the Abbey hero when his took his chance to earn the Tipperary side a thrilling win on a 0-12 to 0-11 score line.

After losing their opening game in the competition this results brings the Abbey right back into contention with everything now hinging on their final group game against Carrigalaine.

Abbey CBS: Eoin White (Galtee Rvs.); Sean Cunningham (Lattin\Cullen), Oisin O’Mara (Kickhams), David Finnane (Galee Rvs.); Thomas O’Donoghue (Lattin\Cullen), Ed O’Meara (Aherlow), Damien Bourke (Galtee Rvs.); Ciaran Ryan (Pallasgreen) and Cormac O’Donoghue (Lattin\Cullen); Ciaran Lowry (Arravale Rvs.), Liam Nagle (Golden\Kilfeacle), Paudie O’Dwyer (Pallasgreen); Johnny Lowry (Arravale Rvs.), Donal O’Dwyer (Eire Og Annacarty), Eoin O’Connell (Lattin\Cullen). Subs: Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen) for Paudie O’Dwyer and Peter Mulhair (Arravale Rvs.) for Eoin O’Connell.

Report - Patrick O’Donoghue