Wonderful team effort sees Tipperary triumph in Sligo

Ladies Football

Ladies Football

Tipperary Ladies Intermediate team travelled to Tourlesrane, Co. Sligo to take on Sligo in their second round game of the TG4 Intermediate championship. Sligo were first to settle, with a point from Elaine O’Reilly in the second minute. Tipperary didn’t get off the mark until the ninth minute with a well taken point by Gillian O’Brien, however immediately after a series of quick moves the ball ended up in the Tipperary net with their full forward Roisin Colleary scoring. Sligo added a further two points over the next 10 minutes. Tipperary left it late in the first half to rally up some scores but with three successive points from Grainne O’Gorman, they went in at half time just a point down on a scoreline of Tipperary 0.5 to Sligo’s 1.3.

The second half saw some really good exchanges of free flowing football by both sides, however it was Tipperary who were the more dominant in the first ten minutes, scoring a further three points to give them a two point lead, with Edith Carroll scoring from a free and Breda Feeney and Gillian O’Brien from play. The next 10 minute period saw Sligo push forward where they notched up four successive points, to leave them two points ahead. The final 10 minutes was played at a frantic pace, with both teams exchanging one point each initially. With the game descending into the final minutes, it was the Tipperary girls who held their nerve and in particular Edel Hanly who stepped up and slotted over a free to leave them one point behind. With one minute of normal playing time left, a well worked move up the field resulted in Edel Hanley coolly slotting the ball past the Sligo goalkeeper Noelle Gormally which resulted in a two point victory for the Tipperary girls on a scoreline of Tipperary 1.10 to Sligo 1.8.

The victory was truly a team effort both on and off the field. On the field, Caitriona Walsh and Claire Carroll played solidly in the full back line and Barbara Ryan at wing back had a superb game with both her defensive and attacking play. The midfield partnership of Jennifer Grant and Breda Feeney worked tirelessly throughout. The half forward trio of Shauna Ryan, Samantha Lambert and Gillian O’Brien worked hard as unit in getting and keeping possession and kept a constant supply of ball going into the full forward line, with Grainne O’Gorman seizing three invaluable points before the half time whistle. Edel Hanley came on as a substitute midway into the second half and the experienced Aherlow player turned the game around to leave the final scoreline in Tipperary’s favour, with the two point win.

Tipperary: Helen Kennedy (Cappawhite), Caitriona Walsh (Moycarkey), Claire Carroll (Galtee Rovers), Sinead Delahunty (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Katie Lyne (Moyle Rovers), Sheelagh Carew Captain (Cappawhite), Barbara Ryan (Moyle Rovers), Jennifer Grant (Brian Boru’s) and Breda Feeney (Ballyporeen) (0.1), Shauna Ryan (Ballymacarbery), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan) (0.1), Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers) (0.2), Edith Carroll (Galtee Rovers) (0.1F), Aine Staunton (Aherlow) and Grainne O’Gorman (Moyle/Templetouhy) (0.3). Subs used: Siobhan Condon (Aherlow) for Aine Staunton (38 minutes), Edel Hanley (Aherlow) 1.2 (0.1 free) for Breda Feeney (42 minutes) and Aoife Ryan (Cappawhite) for Samantha Lambert (55 minutes). Subs: Rosemarie Carew (Upperchurch), Mary O’Dwyer (Cappawhite), Caoimhe Bowles (Clonmel Commericals), Elaine Kennedy (Fethard), Orla Meagher (Slievenamon), Bernie Ryan (Upperchurch)

Under 16 Munster Final.

Our under 16 team made it a wounderful weekend for Tipperary when they won their fifth Munster under 16 B title in a row when they beat Waterford in Cahir.

Tipperary were slow to settle and it took until the sixth minute for them to get on the score board with a pointed free from Ashling McCarthy. By the 12th minute the teams were level 0-2 each all the scores coming from frees. Tipperary were dominant all over the field and should have had this game won early in the first half. However by the half time whistle the score board was reading Tipperary 1-7 to Waterford’s 0-2. Tipperary’s flowing style of football contiued in the second half and the Waterford’s defence were on the back foot with the fluency of the Tipperary fowards. By the 15th minute of the second half Tipperary were out of sight on a score line of 4-9 to 0-3. Tipperary’s management could afford the luxury of bringing on their five subs early in the second half at which time Waterford got some momentum going. Final score Tipperary 4-10 Waterford 1-8.

This was a complete team performance with all our backs playing outhstanding, centre field were on top all through and as the score board showed at the end our forwards were on song.

Kildare will be Tipperary’s opponents in the All-Ireland semi-final which will be played on the weekend of August 11. Liam Shinnick, Vice Chairman of Munster Ladies Gaelic Football, had the pleasure of presenting the trophy to his own club player Ashling McCarthy, Tipperary captain. Ashling along with Dara Walsh and Brid Condon were collecting their third Munster under 16 winners medal and to add to this Ashling was nominated player of the match.

Tipperary - Keely Halpin (Cahir). Betty Barlow (Clonmel Commercials), Hazel Shanahan (Moyle Rovers), Maureen Murphy (Brian Borus), Maria Kinane (Moycarkey), Niamh Mackey (Clonmel Commercials), Brid Condon (Aherlow), Dara Walsh (Clonmel Com), Megan Burke (Cahir) 0-1, Sarah Everard (Moyle Rovers) 0-1, Ashling McCarthy (Cahir) 1-4, Laura Dillon (Ardfinnan) 0-1, Sarah Ryan (Clonmel Com), Sinead Buckley (Cappawhite) 1-0. Roisin Howard (Cahir) 1-2. Subs used Emma Buckley (Cahir), Saoirse Mc Geever (Clonmel Com),Eimear Bartley (Sliabh Na mBan) 0-1, Maeve O’Gorman ( Aherlow), Amy Jordan (Thurles Sarsfields). Panel members - Leanne Ryan (Moyle Rovers), Siobhan Murchin (Clonmel Com),Louise Cadell (Templemore) Elaine Fitzpatrick (Templemore), Marie Curley (Templemore),Caral Casey ( Cahir), Claire Walshe (Brian Borus).

Cahir under 14 blitz

Time is running out for teams to enter the Cahir clubs under 14 monster blitz. Entry should be sent to Liam shinnick post haste.