Dominant first half set ups Burgess for victory

County SHC

County SHC

Burgess 2-15 Moycarkey-B 0-12

Corner forward Stephen Murray stole the show as Burgess dealt out a nine points beating to a disappointing Moycarkey-Borris in the first round of the county senior hurling championship at The Ragg on Sunday evening.

Murray bagged an impressive 2-10, both goals from play, as the North representatives absorbed the Moycarkey challenge with surprising ease.

Murray lost little time in putting down a marker, blasting a twenty meter free over the bar in the first minute. The score got Burgess in the right frame of mind and they quickly opened a 0-7 to 0-1 lead by the 20th minute, Tony Scroope and Damian O’Brien joining Murray on the score-sheet. Kieran Morris’ pointed free in the 9th minute was Moycarkey’s sole response but the Mid lads were denied a goal when Burgess fullback Brian Hogan bravely threw himself in front of a Pat Ralph piledriver which had goal written all over it.

Had that 20th minute effort ended in the Burgess net it could have made a significant difference to the Moycarkey challenge. Instead, Burgess whipped over another five points without reply, Enda Hogan, adding to Murray’s four efforts, for an interval lead of 0-12 to 0-1.

Two points in four minutes at the start of the second half suggested Moycarkey were going to have a right go but then disaster struck as a fumble by a defender presented Murray with a goal chance he did not spurn in the 4th minute.

Two Morris points undid most of the damage and then Anthony Healy had the ball in the Burgess net in the 11th minute but referee Noel Cosgrove had blown for a foul on Morris which yielded a point.

Five more Morris points followed in the next 7 minutes to leave Moycarkey only five adrift with twelve minutes still to play, but once more the self-destruct button was pressed in the Moycarkey defence as not a backman was in sight when Stephen Murray was in the right spot to blast to the net past a helpless John Kelly.

Eight points off the pace again, there was no way back for Moycarkey now but they kept plugging away without ever threatening to overtake their rivals who were comfortable winners by nine points.

Burgess- Niall McGrath; John O Dwyer, Brian Hogan, Michael Flaherty; Johnny Mulqueen, Shane Maher, Noel Gleeson; Eoin Tossy Hogan, Jonathan Ryan; Tony Scroope(0-3), Damian O Brien (0-1), Timmy Hogan; Robbie Cremin, Eoin Hogan (0-1), Stephen Murray (2-10).

Moycarkey-Borris – John Kelly; James Power, Paul Dempsey, David Morris; Kevin Moran, Phil Kelly(0-1), Willie Dempsey(0-1); Pat Carey, James Bourke; Pat Molloy, Robert Doran, Rory Ryan; Anthony Healy, Pat Ralph, Kieran Morris(0-10); Subs- Brian Moran for Doran; Ciaran Clohessy for R Ryan; John Bergin for Healy;

Ref- Noel Cosgrove, Marlfield;