Tributes as chairman and treasurer step down from positions

West Tipp Bord na nOg

West Tipp Bord na nOg

This year’s Annual Convention of West Tipperary Bord na nOg was held on Wednesday night, November 30 at a very well attended GAA Centre in Rosegreen.

Secretary, Paddy Fitzgerald thanked all the club secretaries and chairpersons for all their help throughout the year for making his job as stress-free as possible and particularly given the challenges encountered in adapting to the new U12 competitions format.

Change, he said, was ever present in the GAA and in West Tipp Bord na nOg, we have been active in embracing new ideas into our programme calendar and indeed many of our neighbouring Divisions have incorporated our ideas, a number of which will be included in next year’s official Rules governing U12 competitions.

He paid special tribute to Chairman Joe Hammersley and Treasurer John Joe Morrissey, who were both standing down after three years in their respective positions.

He also thanked Tom O’Donnell, Steve O’Donnell, the CCC and other Board personnel for their invaluable contribution in the past year.

He congratulated Tipperarys All Ireland winning Minor Football team along with Tipp’s Tony Forrestal U14 Hurling winning side and the West Tipp contribution made to both teams success and thanked all the various teams and selectors across the Division for their continual work in progressing football and hurling upwards to a standard which everybody would like to see.

Outgoing Chairman Joe Hammersley thanked everyone including all his fellow officers, the various club officials, the Referees association and anyone who helped out in any way over the past three years in carrying on the work of Bord na nOg in West Tipperary.

On finance he thanked John Joe Morrissey for his excellent handling of the financial affairs, sponsors for their ongoing support and said that sale of match day programmes continues to generate good income for the Board .

He expressed some concern that one of our prime games (U16A Hurling West Final) was moved from its scheduled throw in time, a move he said impacted on the final gate returns for the year which was our main source of income.

He complimented the West representatives on our various county teams and also paid special mention to Liam O’Dwyer (Arravale Rvs) for his Saturday morning radio slot in keeping everyone informed on Bord na nOg affairs in the Division.

Outgoing treasurer John Joe Morrissey who was also vacating the Board after three years in the position, produced another comprehensive and informative treasurer’s report outlining in every detail all our income and expenditure and again thanked everyone for their help during the past year.

West Senior Chairman Roger Kennedy complimented the Board on the introduction of the newly structured U12 competitions, the improvement of skill levels and said that our young people were being well catered for within the association in West Tipperary.

One concern he noted was the overlapping of games notably members of the Emly/Sean Treacys U16 team having played a West Final and then having to line out in a crucial Minor Hurling Semi Final within twenty four hours.

Officers Elected 2012

Chairman, Tom Dawson (Eire Og Annacarty)

Vice Chairman, Seamus Furlong (Kickhams)

Secretary, Paddy Fitzgerald (Kickhams)

Treasurer, (Not Filled) Deferred to Adjourned AGM- 8/2/2012

Registrar, Roger Ryan (Cashel KC)

PRO, Tommy Fitzgerald (Sologhead)

West Senior Delegate, Richard O’Connor (Arravale Rvs)

CCC (5), Tom O’Donnell (Golden/Kilfeacle), Joe Hammersley (Clonoulty/Rossmore), John Carey (Sean Treacys), Mike McCarthy (Cappawhite), Roger Ryan (Cashel KC).