Hurling titles for impressive Rosegreen and Kickhams

West Tipp Bord na nOg

West Tipp Bord na nOg

Sologhead was the venue for the U14C Hurling Championship West Final played on Monday, September 3 where Rosegreen completed the league and championship double with a clear cut victory over Emly.

Having proved too good for Emly in the league final, Rosegreen went into the game as firm favourites but were made fight hard all the way and again had to rely on a big second half performance before getting the better of a very spirited Emly side.

Leading by seven points at the break 2-3 to 0-2 and having squandered numerous scoring opportunities, the old cliché that goals win games proved all too true as Rosegreen added three further second half goals eliminating any chance of an Emly upset.

James Ryan topped the scoring for the winners with 2-2, Colm Hayde added 1-4, team captain James Walsh 1-2 and Gavin Moloney 1-0.

Accounting for Emly’s scoring included John William Ryan 1-0, Andrew Vance 0-2 and Aidan O’Heney 0-1.

After the game the Rosegreen captain James Walsh was presented with the winners Shield by West Bord Na nOg Chairman, Tom Dawson.

Final Score, Rosegreen 5-8 Emly 1-3

Rosegreen - Ger Cummins, Kevin Tobin, Kevin Frier, Harry Tobin, Jonathan Keating, Andrew Moloney, Colm Hayde 1-4, Paudie Ryan, Tom Dowling, James Walsh Capt. 1-2, Thomas Murphy, James Ryan 2-2, Gavin Moloney 1-0. Subs. all used, Harry Costello, Jack Costello and Charlie Costello.

Emly - Danny Cunningham, Darragh McAuley, Conor Burke, John O’Brien, Conor Phipps, Paul O’Heney Capt, Dean Heffernan, Sean McGrath, Andrew Vance 0-2, Aidan O’Heney 0-1, Eric Fogarty, Dyaln Farrelly, Kevin McGrath.

Subs used, John William Ryan 1-0, Mark Fogarty, Anthony Hammond, David O’Brien.

Referee, Willie Kennedy.

U16B Hurling Championship West Final

In the Centenary Co. Op sponsored U16B Hurling Championship West Final played on Saturday last in Sean Treacy Pk, Kickhams advanced to the Co. Semi Final following a solid all round team performance in seeing off Rockwell Rvs with a fourteen point winning margin.

Played on a surface not too unlike some of our seaside beaches given the amount of sand was dumped on it for restorative reasons, both sets of players found it hard to adapt to the conditions and unable to produce a good hurling rhythm.

Following an early exchange of points between Killian Loughman and Liam Fahey it was Kickhams who settled quicker and made better use of possession that came there way.

Driven on by outstanding performances by centre back Padraig Carroll, midfielder Brendan Ryan and forwards Elliott Thompson and Killian Loughman, the Kickhams held too many aces for Rockwell Rvs who relied heavily on the stick work of Liam Fahey who accounted for 1-6 of his sides total of 1-7, Christopher Hickey 0-1 and goalkeeper Conor Hickey who had a superb game coming to his sides rescue time and again.

On the other hand seven Kickhams players figured on the score sheet shooting eight first half points and adding a further 2-10 in the second half for a final tally of 2-18.

Captained by Killian Loughman who scored 1-2, others included Brendan Ryan 0-7, Padraig Carroll 0-4, substitute Joe Griffey 1-1, Elliott Thompson 0-2, Ger Browne and James Ryan 0-1 each for a well deserved victory.

Final score, K.Kickhams 2-18 Rockwell Rovers 1-7

Kickhams - Dean Nolan, Cathal Ryan, Killian O’Meara, Nathan Ryan, Kieran Breen, Padraig Carroll 0-4 (3x65s), Michael McCormack, Brendan Ryan 0-7 (3frees), James Ryan 0-1, Elliott Thompson 0-2, Eoin Hand, Joseph Lonergan, Phelim Carberry, Killian Loughman Capt. 1-2, Ger Browne 0-1.

Subs. Joe Griffey 1-1 for Phelim Carberry, Gavin McCormack for Joseph Lonergan, Alex Lebret for Eoin Hand, Sean Butler for Killian Loughman.

Rockwell Rvs - Conor Hickey, Diarmuid Barron, Kevin Blair, Sean O’Connell, Darragh Campbell, Craig O’Connell, Walter Ryan, Owen Cleary, Liam Fahey 1-6, Tom Keating, Padraig Ryan, Paul Coffey, Christopher Hickey 0-1, Colm Moloney, Michael Lonergan.

Subs. all used, Cillian English, Aidan Boyle, Evan Dooley.

Ref. David Grogan.

U14 Hurling County Semi Finals

In the U14 Hurling County Semi Finals played on Saturday afternoon last all the West Tipp representatives advanced to the County Final following victories over their Mid Tipp opponents.

In the U14A semi final Clonoulty/Rossmore who were three points in arrears with three minutes remaining hit four unanswered points to win a place in the County Final at the expense of Durlas Og and in the final will meet North Tipp champions Newport who earlier defeated Mullinahone..

In the U14B Semi Cappawhite proved too good for Gortnahoe/Glengoole winning with 16 points to spare and will surely fancy their chances against Kildangan in the Co. Final.

West Tipp U14C Champions Rosegreen guaranteed their place in the county final with a three point margin win over Lorrha and now go on to meet Carrick Davins.


Thursday September 13

U14 Hurling Shield Final: Golden/Kilfeacle v K.Kickhams, Cashel 6.15pm. (Ref to be appointed)

Saturday September 15

U14 Hurling Co. Finals (Complete details unavailable at time of writing)

U14A, Clonoulty/Rossmore v Newport

U14B, Cappawhite v Kildangan

U14C, Rosegreen v Carrick Davins

Sunday September 16

U16B Hurling League Final: Galtee Rvs v K.Kickhams, Golden 2.30pm, Oisin Ryan.

Tipperary Credit Union U16A Hurling Championship West Final

Clonoulty/Rossmore or Emly/Treacys v Cashel KC or Lattin/Cullen.

(Full details not confirmed at time of writing)

Monday September 17

U16A Hurling League Final - Extra Time

Clonoulty/Rossmore v Emly/Treacys, Cappawhite 6pm.