Galtee Rovers into semi-finals

West SFC

West SFC

Galtee Rovers 0-11 Aherlow 0-6

Galtee Rovers qualified for the Ballinilard Transport West SFC semi-final against Arravale Rovers in Lattin at 5.30pm next Saturday, by virtue of this victory over Aherlow in Sean Treacy Park last Friday evening. They were slow to settle but ran out deserving winners in the end. Aherlow now exit the competition. Their cause was not helped when Seamus Grogan had to leave the field through injury after just seven minutes and then the disamissal of Bernard O’Brien half way through the second half.

Aherlow started the livelier and had the Rovers defense pinned back with strong running from midfielders and wing backs. However they were guilty of overcarry and woeful shooting. Pat Ryan opened Rovers account after six minutes with a pointed free and then Brian Moroney came in for Seamus Grogan. Grogan was a huge loss for the Glensmen. Bernard O’Brien set up Thomas Fahy for the equaliser after eeleven minutes. Thomas Hanley missed a scoreable free before Cathal Dillon put Cathal O’Shea through for the lead point. The lead was short lived as Pa Morrissey, Christopher Higgins and Colin Morrissey put a good move together, and after Colin being fouled, Pat Ryan from the free had the sides level, 0-2 apiece, at the end of the first quarter. Aherlow then added an other two points.The Mc Donald brothers set up Thomas Hanley for the first and when Mark O’Brien was fouled, his brother Bernard converted the second.After twenty two minutes Aherlow led 0-4 to 0-2.

To bolster up the midfield Colin Morrissey began to play deep to good effect and for the remainder of the half Galtee Rovers sent over three unanswered points. Following good work by Conor O’Sullivan, Tony Egan pointed. Then Patrick Ryan and Colin Morrisey did the hard work for a point from Christopher Doyle. Tony Egan then punched over a Patrick Ryan free. Aherlow then missed two good scoring chances so Galtee Rovers led at the interval 0-5 to 0-4.

Galtee Rovers opened well in the second half. Patrick Ryan, from a free, pointed the Rovers further ahead, but Bernard O’Brien placed Thoms Hanley for a point in reply so at the end of the third quarter Galteee Rovers were just a point ahead.

Then Bernard O’Brien was unfotunate to get a red card.

Denis Peters added pointed a free for Rovers who now had Adrian Grace as an extra man in defense. Aherlow lost a chance from a forty five before Colin Morrissey and Vinny Murphy set up Mark O’Brien for the Rovers’ eighth point after fifty minutes. Patrick Ryan added a pointed free, and Robert Doyle pointed to bring the Rovers tally to ten points after fifty seven minutes. Colin Morrissey then put Tony O’Brien through for their final score, and Aherlow replied with a late point from Ciarán Mc Donald.

Galtee Rovers gave a polished performance despite a slow start. It was also a solid team performance.Their back line, especially Andrew Morrissey, Conor O’Sullivan, Robert Doyle and the evergreen Vinny Murphy kept a tight rein on the Aherlow attackers. Pa Morrissey and Seamus Moloney grafted hard in the centre off the park. There was a great duel between Colin Morrissey and the excellent Ciarán McDonald. Patrick Ryan was unerring from frees and Tony Egan Denis Peters and Tony O’Brien contributed well to the victory.

It was disappointment for Aherlow as they could manage only two points in the second half. All their scores came from play. Injuries to Seamus Grogan and Cathal O’Shea and the dismissal on the night also were not helpful to their cause. However they battled bravely to the end with Ciaran McDonald, Mark O’Brien and Sean Mullins defending gamely. Cathal O’Shea and Cathal Dillon held their own at midfield while Thomas Hanley despite not taking all his scoring opportunities was a real thorn on side of the Rovers defense. Laurence Coskeran and Thomas Fahy also tried hard.

Galtee Rovers: Eamon O’Connell; Andrew Morrissey, Conor O’Sullivan, Adrian Grace; Christopher Higgins, Vinny Murphy, Robert Doyle(0-1); Pa Morrissey, Seamus Moloney; Patrick Ryan(0-4f), Mark O’Brien, Michael O’Connell; Christopher Doyle(0-1), Colin Morrissey, Tony Egan(0-2). Subs; Denis Peters(0-1) for Tony Egan, Tony O’Brien(0-1) for Seamus Moloney and Damien Bourke(0-1) for Christopher Doyle.

Aherlow; Gordon Peters: Mark Hanley, Ciarán McDonald, John Hennessy; Chris McDonald, Sean Mullins, Mark O’Brien(0-1); Thomas Hanley(0-2), Cathal O’Shea(0-1); Cathal Dillon, Seamus Grogan, Laurence Coskeran; Denis O’Shea, Bernard O’Brien(0-1), Thomas C Fahy(0-1). Subs; Brian Moroney for Seamus Grogan,Derry Peters for Cathal O’Shea,John Moloney for Chris McDonald.