Knockavilla Kickhams ease into final

West IFC

West IFC

Kickhams 0-14 Latin-Cullen 0-3

Kickhams qualified for the final of the Rea Clarke Hennessy intermediate football championship when they scored an easy victory of 0-14 to 0-3 over Lattin-Cullen at Cappawhite on Tuesday evening.

This was a one-sided game in which Kickhams were dominant for most of the time. They scored nine points in the first half and were also guilty of six wides.

In contrast Lattin-Cullen could manage only two points and didn’t score their first until the 13th minute to leave the half-time score 0-9 to 0-2.

While Niall O’Brien pointed for Kickhams in the opening minute on the resumption Lattin-Cullen’s best period in the game was during the next ten minutes. They enjoyed a lot of possession, initiated many attacks and made a determined effort to reduce the deficit. But they got very little for their trouble, a lone point by Aiden Kiely in the ninth minute. Again and again their attacks were cut off by a lively Kickhams back line.

The remainder of the game petered out and it was a relief when the referee blew his final whistle with Kickhams to the fore by 0-14 to 0-3. They might have been even more had they not hit a further seven wides during the period.

Kickhams were the much better outfit and revealed a high level of fitnness, good movement off the ball out of defence and they put together some fine attacking efforts. They got good performances from Paul and Derek Breen, Danny Carbery, Paul O’Dwyer and Davy Butler.

It was a poor night for Lattin-Cullen when they failed to rise to the occasion with the exception of the period early in the second half. Aiden Kiely tried his heart out and Alan Hayes and Shane Russell had moments.

Kickhams: Michael Healan, Danny Carbery, John Slattery, Rory Heffernan, Damian McGrath, Derek Breen, Michael Shanahan, Pa O’Brien (0-2), Paul Breen (0-2), Niall O’Brien (0-1), Aiden Butler, Paul O’Dwyer (0-1), Alan Horgan (0-2), Richard Horgan (0-2), Davy Butler (0-4). Subs: Aiden Heney for Aiden Butler, Dean Thompson for Alan Horgan, Paddy Ryan for Richard Horgan, P, J,. Colins for davy Butler, Davy Hogan for Paul O’Dwyer.

Lattin-Cullen: Ger Ryan, Tadhg Hennessy, Shane Russell, Dermot Leahy, Sean Cunningham, Pat Power, John Breen, Aiden Kiely (0-1), Sean Kiely, Michael Kenny, Alan Hayes, Timmy Heffernan, Darren McCarthy (0-1), Roger Kiely, Mark Russell (0-1). Subs: James Riordan for Timmy Heffernan, Damian Morrissey for Pat Power, Cathal Martin for Michael Kenny, Arthur Dunne for Dermot Leahy.

Referee: Michael Duffy (Arravale Rovers)