Ardfinnan are county ladies football champions

Ardfinnan beat Templemore 3-9 to 1-10 in the County Junior ‘A’ Ladies football final at Golden.

Ardfinnan beat Templemore 3-9 to 1-10 in the County Junior ‘A’ Ladies football final at Golden.

Templemore had beaten Ardfinnan in the league final last May 4-13 to 4-5 and therefore came into this game as favourites.

Ardfinnan were first to score a point before Laura Dillon added a goal. Templemore opened their account with a point after ten minutes. A thirty yard drive from Templemore’s Edel Nyland ended up in the Ardfinnan net. Templemore’s backs were in control but the steady supply of balls to the forwards was wasted time after time with at least three goal chances going a beging. Ardfinnan weathered the storm and broke up field for centre half back Clare Lambert to score a goal to leave the score at half time Ardfinnan 2-2 Templemore 1-3.

The enthusiasm and experience of the more seasoned Ardfinnan team was starting to tell and Templemore found themselves playing catch up. A forty yard free from Clare Lynes was not contested by the Templemore backs and so ended up in the back of the Templemore net. Ardfinnan scored 1-7 in the second half to Templemores 0-7 to give us a final score of 3-9 to 1-10.

Enda McDonnell, Co P.R.O., deputising for Co Chairman Tommy Campbell (a happy Mayo man) presented the Tipperary Co. Board cup to the winning captain Clare Lambert. Ardfinnan play the Cork champions on September 15. Biddy Ryan, Co. Treasure. was called on to present the player of the game award to Samantha Lambert.

Ardfinnan - Barbara Hyland, Dawn Doolin, Ashling Ryan, Emma Whelan, Paula Spillane, Clare Lambert, Amie Dudley, Samantha Lambert, Amanda Grace, Maeve Murphy, Clare Lyness, Lauren Fitzpatrick, Laura Nagle, Laura Dillon, Niamh O’Mahoney.

Scorers, Ardfinnan, Clare Lynes 1-4 , Laura Dillon 1-1, Clare Lambert 1-1, Laura Nagle 0-2, Niamh O’Mahoney 0-1.

In the Intermediate semi replay, Aherlow beat Moycarkey and now play Cahir in the County final on Saturday next September 8. Time and venue to be decided.