Hammersley stars as Clonoulty reach West Tipperary u-21 ‘A’ hurling final

Clonoulty-Rossmore 1-12 Arravale Rovers 0-12

Clonoulty-Rossmore 1-12 Arravale Rovers 0-12

Clonoulty-Rossmore defeated Arravale Rovers by 1-12 to 0-12 in the O’Dwyer Steel Ltd under-21 hurling championship A at Bansha on Sunday afternoon.

The difference between the sides was Conor Hammersley, who was the outstanding player on the field and contributed nine of his side’s twelve points.

Arravale also contributed to their own defeat with their failure to convert a load of possession in the forward line. The performance of their inside line in particular left an awful lot to be desired.

The sides were level during the first quarter with three points each but Clonoulty moved ahead a bit after that and led by 0-7 to 0-5 at the interval

While Niall Donovan pointed for Arravale immediately after the resumption, Clonoulty moved in front with five points from Hammersley during the third quarter, three from play and two from frees. Arravale added one so that entering the last quarter Clonoulty enjoyed a five-point lead on a scoreline of 0-12 to 0-7.

Arravale weren’t finished yet and determined play by Davy Power and Paddy Dalton resulted in three points and a reduction in the lead to two.

The momentum was with them but they suffered a body blow when, following a concerted attack by Clonoulty, Paul Hayes finished the ball to the Arravale net in the 24th minute and restored their five-point lead.

Arravale tried hard during the final six minutes to reduce the deficit but could only manage two points from Davy Power and this left the final score at 1-12 to 0-12.

Clonoulty did enough to win but weren’t as effective as expected. They were well served by Conor Hammersley and others to impress were James Horan, Patrick Hennessy, Martin Sadlier and Ciaran Ryan (C)

Arravale will bemoan so many missed chances and their inability to whip on the ground near the goal mouth when scoring opportunities presented. Davy Power and Paddy Dalton impressed and other noticeable performances were by Shane Leahy and Ger Mulhair.

Clonoulty-Rossmore: Jimmy Maher, Sean Coffey, Niall Shanahan, Ciaran Ryan (C), Ciaran Quirke, Padraig Heffernan, James Horan, Martin Sadlier, Kevin Maher, Aiden White, Aaron Ryan (0-1), Patrick Hennessy, Conor Hammersley (0-9), Paul Hayes (1-0), Seamus Carew (0-2). Sub: Philip Quirke for Kevin Maher.

Arravale Rovers: Gary O’Callaghan, Michael Ryan, Ger O’Dwyer, Shane Leahy, Davy Power (0-3), Ger Mulhair, Daragh Coughlan, Niall Donovan (0-1), Sean O’Meara, Ciaran Lowry (0-1), Donagh Leahy, Sean Kilcoyne (0-1), Paddy Dalton (0-4), Fintan Ryan (0-1), Brian Lowry. Subs: Pearse Richardson for Micheal Ryan, Johnny Lowry for Sean Kilcoyne, Michael Heffernan for Daragh Coughlan.

Referee: John McCormack (Kickhams)

(P.S. This was Clonoulty’s third victory in the competition and they have qualified for the final. They will meet the winners of the semi-final between Arravale and Cashel, which takes place this weekend. Kickhams are eliminated from the competition).