Carrick Davins are Tipperary u-16 ‘C’ hurling champions

A sunny and well turned out New Inn was the setting for the 16 HC ‘C’ final between Carrick Davins and Upperchurch-Drombane.

A sunny and well turned out New Inn was the setting for the 16 HC ‘C’ final between Carrick Davins and Upperchurch-Drombane.

The opening exchanges were even with missed chances on both sides. 

Davins were first on the score sheet with a point from Darragh Foley which was quickly followed by two points from Curtis Walsh, one from Josh Moroney and a free from Michael Whelan.  Upperchurch had missed some chances before TJ Butler opened their scoring with a free.

While Davis dominated the match, the Upperchurch backs were under pressure but Davins failed to press home their advantage with poor shooting. Upperchurch had two frees from Jack Butler in the 19th and 20th minute.

This sparked Davins to life and they had points from Ray Cooke, Josh Moroney, Trevor Murphy and a goal on the stroke of half time from Luke Faulkner with Upperchurch’s only reply a 65 from Jack Butler leaving the half time score 1-9 to 4 points.

Davins opened the second half strongly with points from Trevor Murphy and James O’Neill.  Gavin Ryan in the Upperchurch goal made some crucial saves in the early period of the second half. 

Upperchurch were rewarded for their persistence with a goal from Darragh Brennan in the 5th minute of the second half which was quickly followed by a point from play by Patrick Lavery.

But this was as close as Upperchurch got as Davins responded well with points from Ray Cooke, Luke Faulkner and two from Josh Moroney followed by a further two goals mid way through the second half from Luke Faulkner.   Upperchurch had points from frees from Jack Butler and Gavin Ryan who had now switched to the forwards.  Upperchurch fought hard to the end to close the gap but found Davins goalie Edward Power a tough nut to crack.  Davins ran out winners on a score line 3-17 to 1-10

While Davins had a great team performance, there were notable displays from Michael Phelan, Curtis Walsh,Josh Moroney and man of the match Luke Faulkner.  Upperchurch to their credit fought hard throughout with goalie Gavin Ryan, Toby Clancy, Loughlin Ryan and TJ and Jack Butler their best performers.

Carrick Davins -  Edward Power, Cian Murphy, Conor Mackey, Michael Whelan, Billy Roche, Dylan Shepard,  Raymond Cooke (captain), Curtis Walsh, Josh Moroney, Trevor Murphy, Luke Faulkner, James O’Neill and Darragh Foley. 

Upperchurch -   Gavin Ryan, Ronan Gleeson, Conor Ryan, Patrick Lavery, Toby Clancy, Dean Carey, Niall Grant, Michael Lavery, Loughlin Ryan,

TJ Butler, Jack Butler, Darragh Brennan and Brian Harty.