Excellent year for West Tipp Bord na nOg reviewed

The annual convention of West Tipperary Bord Na nOg took place at Arravale Rvs clubhouse on Wednesday, November 20.

The annual convention of West Tipperary Bord Na nOg took place at Arravale Rvs clubhouse on Wednesday, November 20.

And while the numbers present were down on previous years, it was nevertheless an opportunity to reflect on an excellent year on the playing field and on the Boards plans going forward.

Chairman Tom Dawson complimented the many people and groups who helped in any way with the workings of the Board during what was a very successful year in which six county titles came to the West division.

He also thanked his fellow Bord na nOg officers, the various club officers, the many valuable sponsors of our championships, our divisional selectors who gave of their time, Steve O’Donnell of the Referees association, the media including The Nationalist, Tipperary Star and the weekly radio slot on Tipp Mid West radio by Liam O’Dwyer.

He also thanked the West Senior Board Chairman Tom English and Secretary Michael Long for their assistance throughout the year.

Speaking on the subject of grading Secretary Paddy Fitzgerald said clubs should be honest in their assessment of their teams ability to compete in a chosen grade and doing so would make it easier for the Bord when compiling the grading for the coming year.

Newly nominated Secretary and selector on both of this years all conquering Inter Divisional Hurling and Football development winning sides, Eoin Kennedy (Galtee Rvs), thanked the clubs for the massive support shown in preparing the teams to capture a first ever Peadar Cummins (U14 Hurling) and U14 Inter Divisional Football title.

Outgoing Treasurer John Joe Morrissey (Cashel KC) once again produced a top class balance sheet with his attention to detail in looking after the Boards finances.

Referees coordinator in West Tipperary, Steve O’Donnell, welcomed two new referees to the Division, Eoghan Lonergan (Arravale Rvs) and John O’Grady (Rosegreen) and indicated that a course for new referees will take place next February.

Any intending referees should contact Steve or any member of the Co. Board for details.

The Board would like to thank Breda and Claire O’Brien of the Arravale Rvs club for the excellent hot and cold food provided on the night which was well appreciated by the many delegates present.

The Adjourned Convention was fixed provisionally for January 29in Dundrum commencing at 8pm.

Nominations for 2014 which have been forwarded to the County committee for ratification.

Chairman, Tom Dawson (Eire og); Vice Chairman, Tommy Landers (Knockavilla Kickhams); Secretary, Eoin Kennedy (Galtee Rvs); Ass. Secretary, Sharon O’Dwyer (Lattin/Cullen); PRO, Tommy Fitzgerald (Sologhead); Registrar Roger Ryan (Cashel KC); Senior Board Delegate, Tom Dawson; Co Bord Na nOg Delegate, Matthew Geraghty (Rosegreen); CCC Committee (5) for 2014, John Carey (Sean Treacys), Tom O’Donnell (Golden/Kilfeacle), Joe Hammersley (Clonoulty/Rossmore), Paddy Fitzgerald (Knockavilla Kickhams), Eddie Moroney (Arravale Rvs).

The Annual Primary School Quiz took place at Arravale Rvs clubhouse on Sunday evening last and following some high quality answering throughout, the Monastery CBS Tipperary Town team comprising of Patrick O’Donnell, Niall Sharpe, Eoghan Lonergan and Brian O’Donnell won with two marks to spare over Golden NS.

Third were Thomastown NS followed by Rearcross NS in fourth place and Lisvernane NS in fifth place.

All five Schools go forward to the County final which take place this Sunday, December 1st, at the Sarsfield GAA Centre, Thurles.