‘Mines Ground Toome’

NSCH Silvermines 3-14Toomevara 2-10

NSCH Silvermines 3-14Toomevara 2-10

A fantastic second half performance saw Silvermines cause the upset of the weekend when they overcame Toomevara in a highly entertaining second round Hibernian Inn North Tipperary Senior Hurling championship game played at a windy MacDonagh Park, Nenagh last Sunday afternoon.

Silvermines pulled out all the stops in the last twenty minutes when they outscored Toome with seven unanswered points.

Without doubt, the return of Benny Dunne was very evident and as a result, Toomevara were in step with the wind assisted Mines side.

But the Toome inside backline were in trouble at times and after a second attempt, the Mines created a good scoring move which led to an unmarked Daniel Keogh blasting a low ball past Cuddihy from the edge of the square to give Mines a 1-3 to 0-4 lead.

David Keogh increased the Mines lead but Jason Ryan hit back with a hard earned point from fifty metres. Meanwhile Brendan Timmons was busy keeping tabs on a free running Ken Dunne before the full back earned a free and Forde converted.

With Timmons outfield, Toomevara’s two man full forward line caused problems for the Mines defence and Mark McCarthy took full advantage when pulling first time to the net when he met a Willie Ryan cross on 25 minutes.

Ken Dunne sent another ball towards Ryan who put Toome ahead 1-6 to 1-5 in the 28th minute. It looked good for Toome at this stage but further danger at the Toome end saw Willie Keogh race on to a loose ball and first time to the net.

There were almost five minutes of added time to the half and Toome used that time to draw level with Benny Dunne linking up for Ken Dunne to score followed by an equaliser by Mark McCarthy. Half time score Silvermines 2-5 Toomevara 1-8.

Things were not looking well for the Munster Intermediate champions at this stage and a Ken Dunne goal seventy seconds into the half time, made things seem a lot worse. But Mines hit back with Jason Forde’s free taking proving to be the deciding factor. He had the first of those scores from a free after three minutes. One minute later he stood over a twenty metre free following a late tackle by a Toome player on Forde and the Tipp star responded with a low shot to the back of the net. He followed up with two more pointed frees.

Brian McCormack came into the action with a good point. Further Toome pressure saw Cathal Sherlock come to the fore when dealing with a low Benny Dunne shot before Dunne was in possession again in producing a very good point.

Eoin Brislane was introduced in the 41st minute but three minutes later he was sent to the line along with a Maurice Leamy after a dust up involving over a dozen players.

David Boland was slowly improving and he gave Mines the lead in the 38th minute. Ronan Sherlock had up to now a solid first half and was beginning to come into his own at centre back while Orrie Quirke was really making things happen at midfield and his good work put David Keogh through for a great point.

The wind proved no disadvantage to Forde when he converted another free from sixty five metres out with eight minutes remaining. Mines failed to score for the next six minutes while at the other end, Willie Ryan’s low shot went inches wide of Sherlock’s posts.

David Boland continued to create further panic for Toome and on winning a free, Forde converted to put four points between the teams with ninety seconds of normal time remaining.

There would be another seven minutes of action but as the game went on, Silvermines were improving with every second and their dominance was matched by three more points through David Boland, Jason Forde and David Keogh. The seven point lead was good enough.

Silvermines are now unbeaten and are almost certain of a place in the knock out stages. They play Roscrea in the last Group game while Toomevara need to pick up the pieces with their remaining game against Burgess.

Silvermines: Cathal Sherlock; Maurice Leamy, Brendan Timmons, Damien Boland; Donal Keogh, Ronan Sherlock, Noel Quirke; Orrie Quirke, Cathal Gleeson; Willie Keogh 1-0, David Boland 0-2, Jason Forde 1-9; Daniel Keogh 1-0, Sean Quirke, David Keogh 0-3. Subs: Paudie Fogarty for S Quirke (59)

Toomevara: Darren Cuddihy; Cathal Kennedy, Andrew Ryan, John Boland; Colm Canning, David Young, Darren Delaney; Jason Ryan 0-1, Benny Dunne 0-2; Brian McCormack 0-1, Francis Devaney, Paul Ryan; Ken Dunne 1-3, Willie Ryan 0-2, Mark McCarthy 1-1. Subs: Paddy Tuohy for C Kennedy (52)

Referee: T P Sullivan, Lorrha.