Árdscoil Rís prove far too strong for Our Lady’s Templemore

Dr Harty Cup Quarter-Final Árdscoil Rís 2-19 Our Lady’s Templemore 1-8

Dr Harty Cup Quarter-Final

Árdscoil Rís 2-19 Our Lady’s Templemore 1-8

Tipperary’s interest in the 2013-14 Dr Harty Cup came to a crushing end at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh on Friday afternoon when Árdscoil Rís handed Our Lady’s Templemore a fourteen-point defeat in a lop-sided quarter-final.

Nenagh CBS were dumped out during the group stage and Thurles CBS were surprised by Rochestown in their respective quarter-final leaving Our Lady’s Templemore the sole remaining Tipperary side in the competition. Sadly, and despite some honest endeavour, Árdscoil Rís proved far too strong on this occasion. Ronan Lynch, Cian Lynch, Alex Morey and Michael O’Loughlin did the damage for the Limerick lads.

Points from Ronan Lynch (two frees) and Cian Lynch (two) helped Árdscoil Rís into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead inside the opening eleven minutes.

Colin O’Riordan landed a long-range point to narrow the gap in the 12th and when Tommy Nolan added a free the margin was reduced to the minimum.

Árdscoil Rís however were already dominating affairs and had fired seven wides in an anxious opening quarter. Árdscoil Rís, however, settled down and hit Our Lady’s for 2-3 in a devastating six-minute spell.

A Ronan Lynch free opened a two-point gap (0-5 to 0-3) in the 19th minute before Alex Morey set up Colin Crehan for a goal seconds later. Ronan Lynch then added to his side’s tally from play before Alex Morey created another goal scoring opportunity, this time for Michael O’Loughlin, in the 24th minute. In the 25th Ronan Lynch added another free and Árdscoil Rís now led 2-7 to 0-3.

In the 26th minute Templemore hit back with a goal of their own when Tommy Nolan beat the Árdscoil Rís ‘keeper at his near post, but Árdscoil closed out the opening half in very impressive fashion with points from Ronan Lynch (two), Cian Lynch and Michael O’Loughlin while Dylan Carey mustered a reply for Our Lady’s.

Half-time: Our Lady’s Templemore 1-4 Árdscoil Rís 2-11.

Two minutes into the second half the enterprising Tommy Nolan raced through, but had to content himself with a point following a kicked effort at goal. Over the ensuing six minutes Nolan converted two frees and when Dylan Carey fired over a neat effort in the 43rd minute the deficit had been reduced to seven (1-8 to 2-12).

Our Lady’s Templemore poured forward in search of further scores, but it was instructive to note that the Tipperary lads did not register a single point for the remaining eighteen minutes (one minute of injury time).

Meanwhile Árdscoil Rís busied themselves with the task of closing out the game. Ronan Lynch set them on their way when converting a glorious sideline ball in the 48th minute before Michael O’Loughlin cracked over a smashing left-handed effort to force his side nine points clear. A Ronan Lynch free and Michael O’Loughlin’s third point of the afternoon extended Árdscoil Rís’ advantage before the hard-working Alex Morey cracked over a point in 54th minute.

Ronan Lynch, an exceptional freetaker, enjoyed the final say in the matter when converting two late frees to help Árdscoil Rís into the last four.

Our Lady’s Templemore: David O’Shea, Kevin Ahearn, Pádraig Hogan, Emmet Moloney, Kevin Hassett, Brian McGrath, Bill O’Connell, Tommy Brett, John Joe Ryan, Jordan Moloney, Dylan Carey (0-2), Colin O’Riordan (0-1), Stephen Nolan, Dylan Moloney, Tommy Nolan (1-5, 0-4 frees). Subs: (38th) Jamie Bergin for Stephen Nolan, (41st) Jack Fogarty for Tommy Brett, (58th) Anthony Ryan for Jordan Moloney.

Árdscoil Rís: Páraic O’Loughlin, Eoghan Costelloe, Barry Fitzpatrick, Josh O’Halloran, Gordon Brown, Michael Casey, Jack English, Cian O’Brien, Ronan Lynch (0-12, 0-8 frees, 0-1 sideline), Aaron Gillane, Cian Lynch (0-3), Ian Galvin, Michael O’Loughlin (1-3), Alex Morey (0-1), Colin Grehan (1-0). Subs: (46th) Thomas Grimes for Cian O’Brien, (46th) Charlie McCarthy for Aaron Gillane, (56th) Cian O’Brien for Michael Casey, (56th) Kieran Daly for Colin Crehan.

Referee: David Copps (Cork).