Cashel King Cormacs

Cashel KC 1-06 Galtee Rovers 4-05

Cashel KC 1-06 Galtee Rovers 4-05

Cashel found Galtee Rovers just too hot to handle in an exciting West final in Sean Treacy Park on Monday evening last. From the throw in the game couldn’t have gone any better for Cashel, scoring 1-3 in the opening six minutes to put themselves firmly in the driving seat. Cashel’s scores all came from some intelligent play with some excellent interplay between, Ryan O’Sullivan, Rodrigo Concalves and Colin Ryan causing all sorts of problems for the Bansha defense. But defending champions Galtee Rovers soon found their rhythm and played some terrific football themselves as they clawed back the deficit to one point with a goal and two unanswered points of their own.

But Cashel replied, Alex Marshall and Ryan O’Sullivan adding points. Bansha came back and finished the half in strong fashion adding a goal and two further points to a solitary effort from Rodrigo Concalves to leave this game in the melting pot, with Galtee leading 2-04 to Cashel’s 1-05 at the interval. The second half was contested in a very determined fashion by the two sides with no quarter given. The fact neither side could muster a score in the opening twelve minutes of the half outlines how competitive this games was. They say its goals that wins games and this was certainly the case here as in the final six minutes the team from Bansha added two more and this put an end to Cashel’s brave efforts to capture glory. A late Luke Quinlan point did offer some hope but the damage was done and Galtee Rovers held out to claim the glory. Cashel can be proud, they had a super start and looked like champions in the making but over the fifty odd minutes our opponents seemed to have the edge when and where it mattered, in front of goal. The lads must switch their attentions now to the upcoming Hurling championship where we hope we can banish those football blues by adding some silverware.

Team: Adam Skeffington, Brian Morrissey, Murragh McDermott, Jack Hayes, Sean Ryan, Ciaran Quinn, Jamie O’Keeffe, Luke Quinlan (0-1), Ryan O’Sullivan (0-2), Ross Bonnar, Colin Ryan (0-1), Scott Scanlon, Tom Clarke, Alex Marshall (0-1), Rodrigo Concalves (1-1).

Full reports in this week’s Tipperary Star.