Moycarkey/Borris make history

In midsummer like weather in Boherlahan Moycarkey Borris made club history, winning both the U14 ‘A’ & ‘C’ Hurling County finals.

In midsummer like weather in Boherlahan Moycarkey Borris made club history, winning both the U14 ‘A’ & ‘C’ Hurling County finals.

Moycarkey/Borris 3-03

St. Patricks 0.09

The ‘C’ was a tight affair, St. Pats opened the scoring with a point from James Fitzgerald. Then Moycarkey’s John Coffey scored a third minute goal to go ahead. St. Pats responded quickly after Frank Meagher pointed a free. A first Moycarkey point by Danial Brown increased their lead. The spectators were being served up a very lively and exciting dual, both keepers were tested and dually delivered. Two frees for St Pats marksman Frank Meagher brought the sides’ 1-01 St Pats 0-04.

Both sides let their next scoring opportunities go begging. Certain goals were on offer but both keepers were in no mood to concede. The twenty first minute and Moycarkey regained a one point lead from an Aidan Scott converted free. The Borris boys were on top and saw two chances just go wide. The interval score read Moycarkey Borris 1-02 St.Patricks 0-04.

It was St Patricks turn to enjoy the slight breeze and they seemed to be much more purposeful in their play. A Frank Meagher pointed free leveled matters. Captain Conor Duggan quickly added another point from play. Moments later both Meagher and Duggan added a point each toleave the score St. Patricks 0-08 Moycarkey 1-02.

Forty-five minutes in Daniel Brown pointed a free to reduce the Moycarkey defecit. Seconds later St. Pats responded with a pointed Frank Meagher free. With five minutes remaining the Moycarkey boys needed something and Aidan Scott’s goal was just the stuff all level with time on the clock. A minute later, an ecstatic crowd saw a Ben O’Dwyer goal put Moycarkey up 3-03 to 0-09. Moycarkey were in top flight and controlling the game.

St Patricks Dale Murphy added a long range point to reduce it to two points. They made one final attack on goal but the time had run out on their chance and it was heart breaking for the south followers who had seen victory snatched from them in the dying moments. For Moycarkey it was scenes of jubilation as was heard by one of their supporters that it was a smash and grab finish. Full credit has to be accorded to both panel of players who served up a very honest and hard fought game of hurling. It was a sporting spectacle all the way through. It would be unjust to single out any group of players from either side as on every section of the pitch every player was giving their all.

Moycarkey Borris victorious panel: Ciaran Kirwan, Michael O Donnell, Brendan Looby, Brian O Callaghan, Sean Mockler, Shane Burke, Bill Hackett (Cap), Pat Hackett, Liam Mc Donagh, Danial Brown, John Coffey, Aidan Scott, Tom Maher, Dylan Shaw, Ben O Dwyer, Michael Maher, Diarmuid Maher

Moycarkey Borris 5.11

Cappawhite 2.07

A quick start here as Fraser Allen pointed a free to put the west side on the score board. Moycarkey’s Jack Fallon slotted over a ‘65’ to put the sides level. On the fifth minute Emanon Martin scored a cracking goal and they never looked in trouble after that. From the resulting puck out goal number two was delivered by Darren Flood, things were looking bleak for Cappawhite. Both sides hit wides, then ninth minute saw Cappawhite marks man Fraser Allen point his third. Seconds later Cappawhite were reeling when their net was rattled for a third Moycarkey goal from Bill Maher. However two minutes later Jack Redican had the Cappa supporters on their feet scoring a much needed goal, Moycarkey 3-01 Cappawhite 1-03. Their joy was short lived after Kyle Shelly clocked up a fourth Moycarkey goal. The mid champions were in devastating mode and during the closing five minutes they added another four points to their tally. A Jack Fallon ‘65’ and three John Kirwan points from play, half-time, Moycarkey Borris 4-05 Cappawhite 1-03.

Upon resumption Cappawhite scored first with a point from Brendan Murphy on the second minute. Three minutes later another Cappawhite addition with a point from Gearoid Ryan. Rhys Shelly, Moycarkey’s keeper was on song and cleared his lines with ease. Tom Ryan was always on top in his area surrounding the square. From the back line out Moycarkey were very much in control. Such supremacy gave Moycarkey lots of possession up front, bringing goal number five on the thirty sixth minute from Darren Flood. Even though it was only four scores that separated the sides, the decisive factor was the scores being goals. Massive credit to Cappawhite they never gave up contesting vigorously throughout the game. Over the next four minutes both sides added a points to their lot. On the nineteenth minute Fraser Allen got a goal for Cappawhite to put the score at 5-07 to 2-07. This was to be the last addition to the score record for the west champions and in contrast Moycarkey added another four points courtesy of James Dillon free, Jack Fallon, Kyle Shelly and Darren Flood for a concluding score line of Moycarkey Borris 5-11 Cappawhite 2-07.

Moycarkey Borris were very worthy champions. They bridged a thirty year gap to secure this title. But to add much more to winning this title was the fact that the cup being presented was in memory of the late John Flanagan who passed to his eternal reward in 1994. John was a brilliant hurler for both Tipperary and his beloved Moycarkey Borris club. So it was a very delighted captain Rory Darmody who was lifting the Memorial John Flanagan cup for Moycarkey for the first time. Prior to the presentation chairman Joe Kennedy thanked both teams for a good game of hurling. He acknowledged referee John O’Grady and his officials for a job well done.

Victorious Moycarkey Borris panel: Rhys Shelly, Peter Melbourne, Tom Ryan, Coner Cummins, Kevin Hayes, Rory Darmody (Cap), Max Hackett, Jack Fallon, Zach Jackson, James Dillon, John Kirwan, Bill Maher, Eamonn Martin, Darren Flood, Kyle Shelly, Jack Morrisey, Sean Mockler, Bill Hackett, Pat Hackett, Diarmuid Maher.

Mentors for both teams were: Dermot Maher Colm Ryan, Vinny Flood, Pat Molloy and Kevin Moran.