North Tipperary GAA Scene

All the news on the North Tipperary GAA Scene this week.

All the news on the North Tipperary GAA Scene this week.

North Tipperary U21B Football Championship Group 1

Newport Gaels join Borrisokane at the top of Group 1 after their four goal win over Burgess at Newport last weekend. The final score read Newport Gaels 4-7 Burgess 0-7. Round 2 will operate on this coming Saturday, the 1st March when Newport Gaels host Portroe with a 4.00pm throw in and Christy Mc Loughlin Nenagh Eire Og will be the referee. At the same time and date, Gardiner Park, Borrisokane will be the venue for the Borrisokane V Burgess clash with John Cleary the referee.

Group 2: Lorrha had a 7-13 to 0-3 win over Shannon Rovers Gaels at Lorrha last Saturday. Lorrha will take time out when they receive a bye in Round 2 as Ballina –who received a bye in Round 1 – take on Shannon Rovers Gaels at Ballina next Saturday. The throw in is at 4.00pm and Jim Lees will officiate. 


The North Board would like to thank each of the clubs for their cooperation with fixtures last weekend. There are more fixtures for the coming week and we again ask for cooperation from all in holding these fixtures as we need to complete the Under 21 football to be ready for county semi final date.

Looking back

Three years ago, Newport Gaels defeated Portroe by 4-6 to 0-6 in the Minor B football championship.

Championship Draws 2014

Hibernian Inn Senior Hurling Championship

North champions, Kildangan will face Toomevara in the opening round of this year’s Hibernian Inn North Tipperary Senior hurling championship. This was the eye catching pairing to come out of the draw held in the Hibernian Inn, Nenagh last Thursday evening. The draw was performed by Martin Morris, proprietor of the Hibernian Inn and he picked out holders as the 13th team out of the drum. The Kildangan v Toomevara clash is a repeat of last year’s semi final. Last year’s runners up, Silvermines face County Intermediate champions, Ballina while beaten semi finalist, Borris-Ileigh will take on Moneygall. Overall there are seven very interesting pairings with County final runners up, Nenagh Eire Og to take on Templederry. Both teams were beaten quarter finalists last year. Another of the defeated quarter finalist, Roscrea will face Kilruane MacDonaghs. Portroe were north champions in 2012 and they face Borrisokane who were county intermediate champions in 2010. The first team out of the drum was Burgess (County Intermediate champions in 2003) and they face Lorrha who were 2007 winners. The championship is run on a knockout losers group and for the second round there will be seven more games with the winners of round one to take on the respective losers in the same round. Any team to lose two games will exit the championship.

The 2014 draw is as follows:

Burgess v Lorrha Dorrha

Portroe v Borrisokane

Borris-Ileigh v Moneygall

Templederry Kenyons v Nenagh Éire Óg

Silvermines v Ballina

Roscrea v Kilruane MacDonagh’s

Kildangan v Toomevara

Denis Meats Intermediate Hurling Championship 2014

Last year’s runners up, Shannon Rovers will sit it out for round when Newport take on Ballinahinch in the opening round. Rovers will play the winners in round 2. the top two teams will reach the final.

Watch Centre Junior A Hurling Championship

Knockshegowna face Junior B champions in the first round. The holders are in the group of six. Two Groups to play on a league system with the top team in each group to gain a place in the semi finals and second and third placed teams to feature in the two quarter finals.

Group 1: Knockshegowna, Templederry Kenyons, Borris-Ileigh, Toomevara, Kilruane MacDonaghs, Moneygall.

Group 2: Roscrea, Kildangan, Burgess, Silvermines, Nenagh Éire Óg.

The draws for the remaining championships were also made.

Watch Centre Junior B Hurling Championship

Two Groups will play on a league system. Top team in each group to semi finals. 2nd and 3rd teams to quarter final.

Group 1: Ballina, Lorrha Dorrha, Borris-Ileigh, Borrisokane, Toomevara.

Group 2: Newport, Ballinahinch, Portroe, Nenagh Éire Óg, Silvermines.

Walshe’s of Nenagh North Tipperary U-21 A Hurling Championship 2014

Knockout and Losers Group. Holders Kilruane MacDonaghs will take on Nenagh Eire Og in the opening round in a repeat of last year’s semi final meeting. First round: Toomevara v Roscrea, Burgess v Kildangan, Kilruane MacDonaghs v Nenagh Éire Óg.

Walshe’s of Nenagh North Tipperary Under 21 ‘B’ Hurling Championship 2014

Nine teams- Knockout and losers group. Holders, Borrisokane have the task of taking on Newport Gaels in the first round. The pairing is a repeat of last year’s final. First round: Portroe v Templederry Kenyons, Silvermines v Ballina, Borrisokane v Newport Gaels, Shannon Rovers Gaels v Borris-Ileigh, Lorrha Dorrha.

Ger Gavin North Tipperary Minor A Hurling

One group of seven to play on a league system. Top 4 to semi finals. Nenagh Eire Og hope to secure an eight final success on the trot but face a stiff challenges as six other teams hope to deny them. In the first round they face Toomevara in a repeat of the great North final meeting of last year. Borris-Ileigh and Roscrea were beaten semi finals last year. First round: Borris-Ileigh v Kilruane MacDonaghs, Toomevara v Nenagh Éire Óg, Ballina v Newport Gaels, Roscrea bye.

Ger Gavin North Tipperary Minor B Hurling

One group of eight teams to play on a league system. Top 4 to semi finals. With Ballina promoted to Minor A the fight for honours rest on the shoulders of eight teams including Burgess who were defeated in last year’s decider. First round: Portroe v Lorrha Dorrha, Kildangan v Borrisokane, Templederry Kenyons v Shannon Rovers Gaels, Silvermines v Burgess.

Minor A Football

One group on league system. Top team to the final. 2nd & 3rd teams to semi final. Newport Gaels will defend their title in a four team race. First round: Ballina v Inane Rovers, Nenagh Éire Óg v Newport Gaels.

Minor B Football

Two groups. Top 2 teams in each group qualify for semi final. Holders Kildangan and runners up, Borrisokane were placed in separate groups as eight teams will battle for honours.

Group 1: Lorrha Dorrha, Borrisokane, Silvermines, Portroe.

Group 2: Burgess, Shannon Rovers Gaels, Kilruane MacDonaghs, Kildangan.