County Senior Football Championship
Kilsheelan-Kilcash prove far too strong for Mullinahone CJ Kickhams at Fethard

County Tipperary Senior

County Tipperary Senior

Football Championship

Kilsheelan too strong for Mullinahone

Kilsheelan-Kilcash 1-14

Mullinahone C J Kickhams 0-05

In this group 3 clash of the Tipperary senior football championship played in Fethard on Friday evening Kilsheelan proved far too strong for Mullinahone C J K. In another group 3 game also played on Friday evening Moycarkey-Borris had a point to spare over J K Brackens. Back to the clash between the South Tipp rivals both of whom have been county intermediate champions during the last decade.

On the evidence of Friday night it was the blue and gold combination who seem to have made the better progress. Before the game Kilsheelan were out on the pitch early and warming up in an organised manner. In contrast, the C.J.K. lads seemed to have difficulty in fielding a side if one were to go by the published team sheets.

Referee, Michael O’Donnell set the game in motion. In the first few minutes we had both teams making errors, especially with their passing. The third minute saw Sean Curran(M) yellow carded.

It looked then as if we were in for a very poor night of football. We hoped that things might improve and happily they did. In seven minutes Adrian Walsh opened the scoring with a point. The fact that the scoreboard wasn’t in action, didn’t help the very small attendance. Walsh was again in action in nine minutes when his long range effort from the sideline dropped into the top of the Mullinahone goal. Gary Cronin opened Mullinahone’s account from a free in 12 minutes. In the 18th minute, Kilsheelan mid-fielder Eoghan Ryan was seen to be in trouble and he was forced to retire.

In 25 minutes their centre back Adrian Maguire joined him on the side-line. Paul Maher and Kevin Larkin replaced the two casualties. In between Danny Morrissey (M) had pointed, but sub Paul Maher and Adrian Walsh contributed two to Kilsheenan’s three points. Sean Curran (M) was unlucky to hit an upright, but at the other end Alan Walsh saved well. Michael McHugh (2) and Ian Coughlan added points for the K-K combination in the run-up to half time. H.T. score Kilsheelan/Kilcash 1-06, Mullinahone C.J.K. 0-02.

The second half began with no change. M McHugh pointed a free for Kilsheelan. During the evening McHugh’s free taking was excellent. In the third minute, Sean Curran had to be assisted off with David Walzer replacing him. Adrian Walsh and Pakie Larkin pointed for Kilsheelan and Niall Cronin replied from a free.

The game began to peter out.Ian Coughlan(K) saw yellow but Conor Murphy pointed for Kilsheelan. Bill Maher went through on a solo run with goal on his mind but his effort was stopped and a 45 resulted which McHugh pointed. Another long distance effort from the same player in 18 minutes was fielded by Walsh in the Mullinahone goal.By the 20th minute Kilsheelan led by 1-12 to 0-03. Fair play to Mullinahone who kept battling away. Two points from frees by Danny Morrissey brought Mullinahone to 0-05, but Kilsheelan had the last say with points from sub Eddie Sweeney and Michael McHugh.

In the last few minutes came Mullinahone’s best move of the game in which the ball was brought swiftly from one end of the field to the other, but alas, ended for them with Danny Morrissey shooting wide. Final score Kilsheelan/Kilcash 1-14, Mullinahone C.J.K. 0-05.

It was a night for handing out few plaudits, but for Kilsheelan Adrian Walsh did well in the first half, Paul Maher was busy when he came in and Michael McHugh kicked well. For Mullinahone, Alan Walsh did well after a bad start, the ageless Kyran Vaughan had a good second half and Kevin Walzer and Danny Morrissey also showed up. Both sides will no doubt improve for the other games ahead.

Kilsheelan/Kilcash: John Smyth, David Corcoran, Willie Ryan, Shane Prendergast, Ross Larkin, Adrian Maguire, Tommy Ryan, Bill Maher, Eoghan Ryan, Patrick Larkin, Jimmy Ryan, Ian Coughlan, Michael McHugh, Adrian Walsh, Conor Davin/Murphy.

Mullinahone: Alan Walsh, Niall Mullally, Kyran Vaughan, Keith Mullally, Kevin Walzer, Edwin O’Meara, James Connolly, Eddie Phelan, Sean Curran, Donal Cody, Alan Curran, Gary Cronin, Sean Walzer, Niall Cronin, Danny Morrissey.

Referee: Michael O’Donnell (Clerihan)