Ladies Gaelic Football

U-16 County Final Winners -

U-16 County Final Winners -

The girls brought great pride to our parish as they victoriously defeated Ballyporeen in the County Ladies Football U16 D Final in New Inn. We never thought when we started the football club that we would have two county finals under our belt in one year. This is a tremendous achievement and one that will hold great memories for all involved for many years to come. Last year our U18 girls won the County D Plate Final and this year we have been blessed to have won the U16 D County Final, under the expertise of two dedicated trainers Pat Morrissey and John Joe O Connor. What a great way to kick start the year, our U14 and U18 teams have gained great respect for this young panel of girls, and will look up to them with admiration, they are a great example for the rest of our club members.

The girls and their trainers should be very proud of this achievement, many teams dream of winning a county final, we can now cherish it and for that be grateful and proud of our success.

A huge thank you to all who came on the day to support the girls, sincere thanks to the County Football Board, for their advice and support that they have given to us, since the setting up of our club last year 2012. A thanks to our committee members who are working hard behind the scenes, thanks to our trainers Pat Morrissey and John Joe O Connor for the hard work they put into the club and training the girls, a thank you to our two ladies Sharon O Connor and Catherine Maher who work with our trainers in making sure the girls are looked after well.

It is a very proud moment for our newly established club and our parish, this is the first ever ladies U-16 Gaelic Football Final to be won in our parish, and to be part of this achievement is a huge honour.

The U16 panel is as follows: Sarah Kennedy, Mary Dwan, Elaine Dwan, Rachel Spillane, Emma Ryan, Bridin Ryan, Roisin Lowry, Kate Brennan, Avril O Mahoney, Saoirse Harrington, Shauna Carey, Jody Maher (Captain), Shelleana Bourke, Cara O Connor, Roisin Meehan, Lily Maher, Katie Ryan, Eimear Ryan, Elaine Brennan, Claire Stakelum, Laura Ryan.

Fundraising Event: Our first fundraising event, Church Gate Collection will take place on Saturday and Sunday the 18th and 19th of May, we will be collecting at Masses in Ballycahill and Holycross on both days, Saturday and Sunday mass times 9am, 10am, 11am, 7pm and 8pm. Your kind support would be gratefully appreciated.