Ballina edge out battling Lattin-Cullen Gaels in Drombane

Clean Ireland Recycling County Intermediate Hurling Semi-Final

Clean Ireland Recycling County

Intermediate Hurling Semi-Final

Ballina 0-19

Lattin-Cullen Gaels 2-11

Ballina overcame a strong Lattin Cullen Gaels side to progress to the county final at Drombane on Saturday. Although they drew level on no less than five occasions the difference between the sides was a stronger closing quarter from the Ballina men. Lattin seized a two-point advantage following Cathal Dillon’s 47th minute penalty but they were outscored by 0-6 to 0-2 in the closing quarter.

Playing with a slight breeze advantage, Lattin were first to register but Ballina quickly seized the initiative thanks to successive Michael Breen frees. Lattin-Cullen quickly drew level with a Cathal Dillon free. Lattin netted a 21st minute goal after Evan Hanley surged through on goal but Ballina hit back quickly to take a 0-9 to 1-4 lead with them to the dressing room.

Lattin emerged determined to cut the deficit and within two minutes Cathal Dillon single-handedly brought them back on terms. Lattin kept pace before seizing the initiative with a 47th minute Dillon penalty.

Ballina continued to chip away though with Michael Breen converting a placed ball in the 58th minute before the ace freetaker chipped in with a booming long-range 59th minute effort.

Lattin pegged the gap back to one with a long-range effort from Thomas Hanley before substitue Brian Stritch converted from close to the sideline.

Lattin threw everything at Ballina in injury time but despite going close on a number of occasions they just couldn’t break down a resolute Ballina defence.

Ballina: Martin McKeogh, Donal Kent, Pat Cosgrove, Brian McKeogh; Kevin Cosgrove (0-1), Thomas Collins, Donal McKeogh; Jerry O’Brien, Sean McKeogh (0-1); Stephen O’Brien, Michael Breen (0-11), David Hickey (0-4); Eoin Sheehy (0-1), Eoin Kent, TJ O’Connell. Subs: Brian O’Connor for O’Connell (h/t); Brian Stritch (0-1) for O’Connor (54).

Lattin Cullen Gaels: Stephen Chapman, Laurence Coskeran, Mark O’Shea, Mark Hanley; Aidan Kiely, Thomas Hanley (0-1), Shane Russell; Barry Grogan, Michael Hanley; Lenny Leahy, Evan Hanley (1-0), Brendan Hanley (0-1); Mark Russell, Cathal Dillon (1-7), Cathal O’Shea (0-2). Subs: Sean Cunningham for S. Russell (19); Ed O’Meara for Leahy (41); Pat Power for Cunningham (50).

Referee: Willie Clohessy.