Holycross-Ballycahill minor hurlers in devastating form

County Minor A Hurling Semi-Final Holycross-Ballycahill 10-16

County Minor A Hurling Semi-Final

Holycross-Ballycahill 10-16

Eire Óg Anacarty-Galtee Rovers 1-5

A devastating goal blitz from Holycross Ballycahill overpowered the combination west outfit of Eire Óg Anacarty / Galtee Rovers on Sunday afternoon in Cashel to reach the County A Minor Hurling Championship Final with style.

From the off Holycross were ruthless and went for the jugular at every available opportunity blasting three goals in the opening six minutes of play that effectively decided the outcome.

Holycross will no doubt be elated with the standard of their forward play in this contest but must know they will meet a stiffer test in the final. Unfortunately the Eire Óg and Galtee combination were overmatched and met a clinical Holycross side who delivered a superb performance. Half-time score: 5-8 to 1-3.

If the message was from the Holycross dressing room was more of the same well then the players didn’t disappoint as they amassed the exact same total in the second period. Liam Moloney got the ball rolling with a vicious 25 yard strike off his left. Ciaran Maher kept popping up in the right spot to find the back of the net and claim another two goals for his personal tally. Substitutes John Croke and Eddie Murphy got in on the act when Croke delivered an exquisite side line that tracked all the way to the net and in the dying embers Murphy flicked past the keeper.

Holycross Ballycahill: S. Skelly; D. Carroll, C. Ryan, R. Nally; K. O Dwyer, S. Ryan, J. Skehan (0-1); M. Stakelum (0-1), P. Russell; L. O Mara (0-3), J. Woods (3-2, 1-2F), P. Gavin (0-1); C. Maher (4-2), L. Moloney (1-5), B. Hanrahan (0-1). Subs: C. Hehir for P. Russell (26), A. Ryan for C. Ryan (43), C. O Connor (47), E. Murphy (1-0) for J. Woods (50), J. Croke (1-0, 1-0 S/L) for L. Moloney (50).

Eire Óg Anacarthy / Galtee Rovers: J. English; G. Loughman, E. Grogan, M. Bradshaw; D. Byron, S. Power, D. Egan; K. Power, T. Fox (0-5, 3F); S. Daly, J. Ryan, D. McGrath; E. Heffernan, D. Finnane (1-0), M. O Brien. Subs: K. Collins for M. Bradshaw (h/t), P. O Dwyer for E. Heffernan (h/t), S. O Dwyer for D. Egan (53), C. Breen for D. McGrath (53), E. Brennan for S. Daly (53).

Referee: Thomas Sullivan.