A first-ever under-16A county title for Kilruane

County Under-16A Hurling Final Kilruane MacDonagh’s 1-10

County Under-16A Hurling Final

Kilruane MacDonagh’s 1-10

Carrick SWans 0-10

Thiobraid Arann

Bórd Na Nog Scene

At last our competitive field action has come to a conclusion with the staging of the under-16A Hurling final between Kilruane MacDonagh’s and Carrick Swan in Littleton on Saturday.

Carrick Swan registered the opening score with a point from Dean Walsh in the third minute. One minute later Kilruane wing-forward Cian Darcy saw his free drop short to be connected on by Jerome Cahill to put the Swan net shaking for the only goal of the game. The Swan response was swift with a pointed free from Jack Cooke. On the seventh minute he had the sides level with a well-taken opportunity from play (1-0 to 0-3).

As the ninth minute was approaching Cian Darcy put Kilruane a point up.

Carrick Swan appeared to have a certain goal, but for the sharpness of Niall Shinners the Kilruane keeper who prevented a green flag being raised.

Nine minutes had elapsed before Carrick Swan got their fourth point courtesy of Tommy McGrath to put the sides all square for the second time.

Cian Darcy pointed a 35-metre free to put the north men in front, but it was quickly cancelled out when Dean Walsh converted a fee to put the sides on equal terms for the third time (1-2 to 0-5).

Moments later Swan ‘keeper Scott Murphy made a point blank save. Within the last five minutes of the opening period Cian Darcy pointed a free to give Kilruane a one point advantage (1-3 to 0-5).

In the second half of the game it was Kilruane that were first to make a change to the score board with Cian Darcy pointing a free. Two minutes later Jack Cooke did likewise for the Swan. By the sixth minute Cian Darcy had added two more points for Kilruane both from a free and from play to put the score at 1-6 to 0-6.

Carrick Swan bounced right when Jack Cooke pointed a free which was quickly followed by a point from play by Dean Walsh to reduced the Swan deficit to a single point.

Once again Kilruane marksman Cian Darcy was missing nothing as he pointed two more frees and another point from play by James Cleary - 1-9 to 0-8.

On the seventeenth minute Dean Walsh scored a point for Carrick Swan to put a goal between them. One minute later Rory McCarthy added another point to the Kilruane tally and was responded to with a pointed free from Dean Walsh for Carrick to put the score reading Kilruane MacDonaghs 1-10 Carrick Swan 0-10. For the remaining five minutes of the game it was amazing that no further addition was made to the score. During this time both goalkeepers made great saves and both sides had an equal number of wides three apiece.

At the final whistle Kilruane supporters were in celebratory mood as their team had won their first ever title in this grade.

Making the presentation of the cup to victorious captain Darragh Peters were the parents of the late Colm Phelan, Michael and Marie along with their grandchildren Conor Phelan and Jean McEvoy.

Kilruane McDonagh’s panel: Niall Shinners, Aaron Conroy, Brendan McAdams, Conor Lillis, Martin Grace, Darragh Peters (captain), Kieran Brereton, James Cleary, Tom Dooley, Rory McCarthy, Cian Darcy, Declan Fitzgerald, Craig Morgan, Kevin Shinners, Jerome Cahill, Paul Guidera, Cormac Mannion, Sean Quinlan, John Blagdon, Nathan Ryan, Oisin O’Meara, Mark O’Neill, Sean McAdams, Kevin Oakley, Jack Dunne, Eoghan Mulcahy. Mentors: Sean Ward, Ned Darcy, Johnny Peters, John Hyland.

Our medal presentation is taking place on Friday November 22nd @8pm in Hayes Hotel, Thurles.This. All the captains of the various championship winning teams should attend and bring the cup with them.

We are also requesting our U16 County Hurling panel to be present as well as our Feile skills and Pock Fada winners.

The final is taking place in Littleton @2pm which is being refereed by Fergal Horgan from the Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams club.

Another reminder that our medal presentations will take place in Hayes Hotel on Friday November 22nd.

We urge all our various county championship winning clubs to ensure that they will have both their captain and trophy present on the night. Parents, brothers, sisters of the captains are most welcome as well as club personnel.

Medals will be presented to our U 15 Hurling team who won the Carrigdhoun tournament final in Cork. Unfortunately they have been our only victorious county panel this year.

Our Annual General Meeting is taking place in Hayes Hotel, Thurles on Tuesday, December 3rd commencing at 8pm.