Glory at last for Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré

Masita All-Ireland Colleges Senior B Hurling Final Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré 2-16 Cross & Passion, Ballycastle 0-10

Masita All-Ireland Colleges Senior B Hurling Final

Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré 2-16 Cross & Passion, Ballycastle 0-10

Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré claimed the Paddy Buggy Cup in emphatic style at Nowlan Park, Kilkenny on Saturday afternoon.

Cross & Passion College, Ballycastle made an enthusiastic start and playing with a double centre-back caused Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré some problems, but once the Munster champions settled into the game Ballycastle struggled to cope.

Cross & Passion College initially led by three points, but trailed 0-6 to 1-7 at the break.

The difference in class between the sides was best illustrated by the respective team’s capacity to convert possession into points - between the ninth and 48th minutes Ballycastle, for example, failed to score from play while eight different Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré players got on the score sheet.

First Half

Cross & Passion started well and despite falling behind to an Anthony Devereux point in the opening minute hit back through Jonathan McErlain, Cormac McLafferty (two frees) and Diarmuid McShane to take a 0-4 to 0-1 lead by the ninth.

Roscrea were struggling to get to grips with Ballycastle, but did manage to stay in touch with a Jordan Fogarty free in the tenth minute.

Cross & Passion responded with a free of their own in the 13th (0-2 to 0-5). Roscrea needed a little inspiration to get them going; their tonic came courtesy of centre-back Daniel Doughan in the 15th minute when the Shinrone man intercepted a Ballycastle delivery, strode forward and belted over a smashing left-handed point.

Jordan Fogarty converted two frees, one especially tricky, to tie the match with 19 minutes played (0-5 apiece).

A Cormac McClafferty free re-claimed the lead for Ballycastle in the 21st, but Jamie Dooley responded almost immediately before this game arrived at a critical juncture in the 23rd minute - Ballycastle ‘keeper Ciarán Butler looked to have a harmless-looking Jordan Fogarty delivery under control, but erred in letting the ball creep over the line to hand Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré a 1-6 to 0-6 lead.

In 14 minutes Roscrea had now out-scored Ballycastle 1-5 to 0-2. Indeed, Roscrea closed out the half in enterprising fashion with a Jordan Fogarty free handing his side a 1-7 to 0-6 interval advantage.

Second Half

Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré fired over five points in the opening 15 minutes of the second half to take a 1-12 to 0-6 lead - during this period Jordan Fogarty converted two frees, Shane Fletcher notched a neat point and Ciarán Cleary landed two superb efforts following great work from JP Cleary and Seán Fogarty.

Ballycastle’s first point in 25 minutes arrived courtesy of a Cormac McClafferty free, but Roscrea hit back with an Adrian Cleary point almost immediately.

Full-back Ryan McCambridge, who was moved upfront to bolster his attack, landed Ballycastle’s eighth point in the 48th minute and we entered the final ten minutes with a double-score difference between the sides (1-13 to 0-8).

The sides traded points thereafter until a Jordan Fogarty ’65 in the 56th minute preceded Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré’s second goal in the 59th - second half substitute Shane Fletcher picked out David Murray with a terrific cross and the Coolderry man buried a three-pointer with his very first touch. A really smashing goal.

Match Details

Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré: Enda Moloney (Roscrea), Brian Davis (Roscrea), Declan Cleary (Shinrone), Ian Treacy (Roscrea), JP Cleary (Shinrone), Daniel Doughan (Shinrone, 0-1), Lee Cashin (Roscrea, captain), Jordan Fogarty (Shinrone, 1-8, 0-7 frees, 0-1 ‘65), Anthony Devereux (Moneygall, 0-1), Jamie Dooley (Borris-in-Ossory, 0-2), Seán Fogarty (Moneygall), Ciarán Cleary (Shinrone, 0-1), Evan Fitzpatrick (Roscrea), Shane Sampson (Shinrone), Aaron Kirwan (Shinrone). Subs: (25th) Adrian Cleary (Shinrone, 0-1) for Aaron Kirwan, (42nd) Shane Fletcher (Roscrea, 0-1) for Shane Sampson, (53rd) Cian Rigney (Roscrea) for Evan Fitzpatrick, (57th) David Murray (Coolderry, 1-0) for Adrian Cleary.

Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré Panel Members: Jamie Fogarty (Borris-in-Ossory), Paul Crampton (Clonakenny), Jack Doherty (Killavilla-Ballyskenagh), Darragh Morrissey (Kyle), Dónal Carroll (Moneygall), Mark Fanning (Moneygall), Daire Murray (Moneygall), Niall Devitt (Portlaoise), Eoin Fitzpatrick (Roscrea), Ciarán Guilfoyle (Roscrea), Dylan Maher (Roscrea), Thomas McCarthy (Roscrea), Josh Neville (Roscrea), Cian Treacy (Roscrea), Diarmuid Cleary (Shinrone), Pádraig Smyth (Shinrone).

Cross & Passion College, Ballycastle: Ciarán Butler, Eoin Hill, Ryan McCambridge (0-1), Seán McBride, Conor Christie, OD Laverty, Paddy Joe Graham, Caolan McCaughan, Donn Whelan, Shane McGrath, Cormac McClafferty (0-7, 0-6 frees, 0-1 ’65), Cormac McAllister, Diarmuid McShane (0-1), Jonathan McErlain (0-1), Shea Hunter. Subs: (38th) Conor Patterson for Conor Christie.

Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow).