Tipperary too strong for a disappointing LIT

Waterford Crystal Cup Preliminary Round Tipperary 3-20 Limerick Institute of Technology 0-5

Waterford Crystal Cup Preliminary Round

Tipperary 3-20 Limerick Institute of Technology 0-5

Tipperary strolled to an easy 24-point win over a disappointing Limerick Institute of Technology side in the preliminary round of the Waterford Crystal Cup at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh on Sunday.

Although Tipperary had hoped for a test in their first competitive fixture of the year LIT were in no mood to provide it. Indeed, LIT were as poor a side as we have ever been exposed to in this competition - the students failed to muster a score from play until three minutes into the second period.

Irrespective of the meagre opposition Tipperary worked hard throughout with goals from Shane Bourke, Séamus Callanan and Lar Corbett featuring. Outside of those strikes the excellence of John O’Dwyer from placed opportunities, the power of Pádraic Maher at centre-back, the neat hurling of Ronan Maher in the middle of the field and some enterprising combination play up front warmed the heart.

Conor Kenny and John O’Dwyer (free) got Tipperary off the mark before Séamus Callanan created a goal-scoring opportunity for Shane Bourke in the sixth minute and the JK Bracken’s man handed the home side a 1-2 to no-score lead. John O’Dwyer and Pádraig Hickey traded frees thereafter before Séamus Callanan belted home a penalty in the 15th minute following a foul on the hard-working Denis Maher.

A brace of frees from John O’Dwyer forced Tipp ten points clear before Jack Peters set up Shane Bourke for a smashing point in the 29th minute.

Another John O’Dwyer free featured in the closing minutes of the opening half before Shane Bourke set up the Killenaule man for a superb point off his left in the 33rd minute.

The sides retired with thirteen between them (2-8 to 0-1) at the break.

Although LIT out-scored Tipperary 0-3 to 0-1 during the opening four minutes of the second half the students failed to cope with the Premier’s stick-passing game for the remainder of this encounter. Indeed, LIT were only permitted to score a single point in the remaining thirty-three minutes (one minute of injury time) of this one-sided clash.

A James Woodlock point in the 40th minute helped Tipperary into a 2-10 to 0-4 lead before John O’Dwyer converted an exceptionally difficult free into the breeze in the 42nd.Two minutes later Noel McGrath’s brilliant cross-field ball picked out John O’Dwyer and O’Dwyer helped himself to yet another outstanding point. With twenty minutes to play a John O’Dwyer free left fifteen between them before Noel McGrath found the side netting following a flowing attacking move.

David Collins and Noel McGrath then added to the Tipperary tally before LIT ‘keeper Aaron Murphy pulled off a terrific save to deny the raiding Noel McGrath following a move which involved Pádraic Maher, Lar Corbett, Denis Maher and John O’Dwyer.

LIT’s fifth and final point materialised with twelve minutes to play when Pádraig Robinson landed an effort from distance. Points from Noel McGrath, Conor Kenny, John O’Dwyer (free) and David Collins forced Tipperary into a 2-20 to 0-5 lead before Noel McGrath combined with Lar Corbett and the Thurles Sarsfields man finished neatly off his right with two minutes to play. The goal scoring Corbett was warmly received by the 472-strong crowd.

Tipperary: Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), Jack Peters (Kilruane MacDonagh’s), Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), James Woodlock (Drom & Inch, 0-1), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), David Collins (Drom & Inch, 0-2), Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch, 1-0, 1-0 penalty), Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh, 0-2), Shane Bourke (JK Bracken’s, 1-1), Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule, 0-12, 0-9 frees, 0-1 ‘65). Subs: (HT) Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, 0-2) for Shane Bourke, (HT) Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields, 1-0) for Séamus Callanan, (64th) Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) for Ronan Maher.

Limerick Institute of Technology: Aaron Murphy, Cathal Ryan, Cian Nolan, Brendan Egan, Enda Boyce, Barry O’Connell , Martin Moroney, Éanna O’Neill, Shane McGrath, Pádraig Hickey (0-3, 0-2 frees), Pat Begley, Mark Gennery (Portroe, Tipperary), Seán O’Brien (0-1), Philip Ivors (Ballingarry, Tipperary), Oisín Hickey. Subs: (30th) Brian O’Reilly for Martin Moroney, (HT) David Gough for Cathal Ryan, (51st) Gary Guilfoyle for Mark Gennery, (51st) Pádraig Robinson (0-1) for Pádraig Hickey, (55th) Jamie Lynch for Pat Begley.

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork).