Three cheers for Clonmel Commercials

Jeddy Walsh

Jeddy Walsh

Last Saturday’s county minor football championship success completes a remarkable three-in-a-row for the Clonmel Commercials club, the first time anything like this has been achieved since the same club won a four-in-a-row in the 1935-1938 period. (Although it must be noted that back then they were county champions by virtue of being South champions).

Fittingly as things worked out on an historic day at Leahy Park, Cashel, team captain Colman Kennedy was presented with a brand new version of the Michael Hogan Perpetual Cup which was recently presented to the Tipperary County Board by the Tipperary Dublin Association.

‘Na Tráchtalai’ are now county minor football champions for the 16th time.

Who’s to say they won’t be back next year to emulate the boys of 1935-1938 with another four-timer?

For the record, below are the Clonmel Commercials teams who played a part in the three wins with no less than seven players involved in all three final successes - Darren Cass, Jason Lonergan, Colman Kennedy, Ian Fahey, Brian Walsh, Shane Flynn and Liam Murchan.

Further proof that the club’s youth policy is at last paying rich dividends can be seen from the team that won the county senior football final the previous Sunday against Thomas MacDonaghs - of the 20 who played in the senior final, eight played in at least one of the minor finals over the past three years while another four are members of the extended senior panel.


2010 County Minor Football Final:

Clonmel Commercials 2-10

Loughmore Castleiney 2-5

Team: Paul Nolan, Jamie Peters (capt), Liam Glendon, Darren Cass, Seamus Kennedy, Shane Taylor, Jason Lonergan, Gearoid Buckley, Michael Quinlivan, Colman Kennedy, Ian Fahey, Kevin Gunne, Brian Walsh, Shane Power, Emmet Ryan.

Subs: Matthew Hynes, Shane Flynn, Conor O’Keeffe, Liam Murchan.


2011 County Minor Football Final:

Clonmel Commercials 2-15

Golden/Kilfeacle 0-2

Team: Evan Comerford, Cathal McGeever, Seamus Kennedy, Michael 
Connolly, Keith Browne, Kevin Fahey, Pauric Looram, Ian Fahey, Brian Walsh, Liam Murchan, Jason Lonergan, Shane Flynn, Colman Kennedy, Michael Quinlivan (capt), Levi Whelan.

Subs: Darren Cass, Sammy Ryan, Michael Kelly, Padraig White, Joey Doyle.


2012 County Minor Football Final:

Clonmel Commercials 2-12

JK Brackens 1-5

Clonmel Commercials: Michael Boland, Cathal McGeever, Darren Cass, Ross Dennehy, Keith Browne, Kevin Fahey, Michael Connolly, Brian Walsh, Colman Kennedy (capt), Jason Lonergan, Ian Fahey, Padraig White, Pauric Looram, Evan Comerford, Liam Murchan.

Subs: Shane Flynn, Jake McDonald, Liam Ryan, Joey Doyle, Shane Moloney.