St. Mary’s hurlers advance to county semi-final

County IHC Quarter-Final

County IHC Quarter-Final

ST. MARY’S 2-12


ST. MARY’S are through to a County Intermediate Hurling Championship semi-final against Silvermines following a commanding win over West champions Rockwell Rovers in Cahir on Saturday afternoon. The Clonmel side, in a more determined mindset following their narrow South final defeat, were too strong for Rockwell Rovers who never matched the high standard that won them an historic first West title five weeks ago.

After a very even opening quarter the South side struck a decisive blow with a goal in the 16th minute. Emmet Ryan passed inside to Luke Moore whose powerful shot, despite the best efforts of Michael O’Donnell, just crossed the line.

Half-time score 1-7 to 0-6 to St. Mary’s.

The Clonmel side had their second goal two minutes in to the second period and from then on they never relinquished control. A speculative shot from the middle of the park by Jamie Peters, who was impressive throughout, was missed by everyone and ended up in the Rockwell net and with it ended any hopes of a Rockwell comeback.

St. Mary’s can look forward to a county semi-final but will need to be scoring more freely from open play. However the workrate and determination of Saturday’s victory was impressive. There were many notable performances over the hour from Fergal Condon, Deckie Power, Seamus Kennedy, Noel O’Mahony, Jamie Peters, Gearoid Buckley and Brian McDonald.

Rockwell Rovers will be disappointed they didn’t do themselves justice on the day but they had solid performances from Eoin Shine, Liam Lonergan, Paul and Pat Halley, and Alan Moloney.

St. Mary’s: Ger Corcoran, Fergal Condon, Deckie Power, Ciaran Brady, Stephen Buckley, Seamus Kennedy (0-2, 45 and F), Noel O’Mahony, Darren Cass, Jamie Peters (1-0), Gearoid Buckley (0-6, 0-5F), Brian McDonald (0-1F), Luke Moore (1-0), Jason Lonergan (0-1), Daniel Slattery (0-1), Emmet Ryan.

Subs: Colman Kennedy (0-1) for Emmet Ryan; Donnacha Fahy for Luke Moore (inj); Alan Lonergan for Daniel Slattery; John Trehy for Jamie Peters; Ciaran O’Connell for Noel O’Mahony.

Rockwell Rovers: Michael O’Donnell, Kevin Heaney, Eoin Shine, Stephen Quirke, Stephen Boland, Liam Lonergan, Diarmuid Lonergan, Paul Halley, Barry Shortall (0-1), Pat Halley (0-2), Aidy Barron, Gavin Ryan (0-1), David Byrne, Alan Moloney (0-2F), T.J. Ryan (0-2).

Subs: Eoin Byrne for David Byrne, Eoghan Ryan for Stephen Boland, James Heffernan for Aidy Barron, Colm Heaney for Gavin Ryan.

Referee: Pat Gibson (Kilruane MacDonagh).