Burgess just too good for Éire Óg in replayed final

County Board Secretary Timmy Floyd pictured presenting the Canon Fogarty Cup to Burgess captain Shane Maher after his side won the Clean Ireland Recycling County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup final on Sunday afternoon. Photo: Bridget Delaney
Fr Fogarty Cup Final Replay Burgess 1-19 Nenagh Éire Óg 1-14

Fr Fogarty Cup Final Replay

Burgess 1-19 Nenagh Éire Óg 1-14

Burgess were deservedly crowned Fr Fogarty Cup (County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup) champions at St Michael’s Park, Toomevara on Sunday afternoon.

Right from the off Burgess set the tone of this encounter. Despite playing into a stiff breeze Burgess led 0-11 to 1-6 at the break and although goalkeeper Niall McGrath was asked to make a series of saves Éire Óg struggled to make any significant impression.

Seven weeks previously the sides had drawn (1-18 apiece) after extra-time. On that occasion Burgess required a dramatic last minute point from Eoin ‘Tossy’ Hogan to force a replay, but on this time there was no need for such heroics.

Burgess led 0-10 to 0-4 in the opening half before Éire Óg enjoyed a period of rare dominance which was capped by a Brian Quinn goal in the 29th minute. A Damien O’Brien point for Burgess concluded the scoring in the opening half - Burgess 0-11 Nenagh Éire Óg 1-6.

Éire Óg made an encouraging start to the second half, but Burgess responded and opened a three-point gap with 10 minutes to play (0-17 to 1-11).

Burgess were in no mood to surrender that advantage with points from Damien O’Brien, Donagh Maher and a cracking Stephen Murray goal propelling Pat Cremin’s men into a 1-19 to 1-11 lead by the 57th minute.

Burgess: N McGrath, J O’Dwyer, J Mulqueen, P Hogan, M O’Flaherty, S Maher, P Gill, N Gleeson (0-1), J O’Flaherty (0-1), D O’Brien (0-4), E ‘Tossy’ Hogan (0-1), B Hogan (0-1), D Ryan, E Hogan (0-7, 0-4 frees, 0-2 ‘65s), S Murray (1-3). Subs: (HT) D Maher (0-1) for D Ryan, (56th) C Quigley for E ‘Tossy’ Hogan, (60th) B Tucker for B Hogan.

Nenagh Éire Óg: M McNamara, M Flannery, N Maloney, J Brennan, D Quinn, B Heffernan, A Grattan, M Heffernan (0-5, 0-4 frees), A Kelly, J Slattery, R Flannery, P Morris (0-1), P Ryan, P Murphy (0-3), B Quinn (1-0). Subs: (HT) D Heffernan for A Grattan, (HT) K Tucker (0-3, 0-1 ‘65) for A Kelly, (HT) T Heffernan for B Quinn, (47th) B O’Brien (0-2) for P Ryan, (47th) D Hackett for J Slattery.

Referee: D Darcy (Kilruane MacDonagh’s).