Draw made for the preliminary quarter-finals of the Tipperary intermediate hurling championship

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Draw made for the preliminary quarter-finals of the Tipperary intermediate hurling championship

The draw has been made for the preliminary quarter-finals of the Tipperary Water County Intermediate Hurling Championship while Cashel King Cormacs, Golden-Kilfeacle, Drom & Inch and Moneygall progress directly to the quarter-finals.

The preliminary quarter-final draw reads as follows: Moyne-Templetuohy v Thurles Sarsfields, Seán Treacy’s v Ballinahinch, Gortnahoe-Glengoole v Shannon Rovers and Ballybacon-Grange v Borrisokane.

Meanwhile the groups have also been drawn for the relegation phase of the Tipperary Water County Intermediate Hurling Championship - group one: Kiladangan, Knockavilla Kickhams and Arravale Rovers. Group two: Carrick Davins, Moyle Rovers and Lattin-Cullen Gaels. Kiladangan will take on Knockavilla Kickhams on Saturday, September 15th at 4pm in Holycross while Carrick Davins and Moyle Rovers will meet on Saturday, September 15th at 4pm in Ned Hall Park.

The group stage of the Tipperary Water County Intermediate Hurling Championship reached a conclusion on Sunday - we now know the identity of all twelve clubs who will compete in the knock-out series of this year’s championship.

The respective group winners read as follows: Moyne-Templetuohy, Cashel King Cormacs, Drom & Inch, Seán Treacy's, Golden-Kilfeacle and Moneygall.

The second-placed teams read as follows: Ballinahinch, Thurles Sarsfields, Borrisokane, Gortnahoe-Glengoole, Ballybacon-Grange and Shannon Rovers.

This year's Tipperary Water County Intermediate Hurling Championship is comprised of twenty-one teams; three groups of four and three groups of three. Following the round robin stage of the competition the top two teams in each group qualify for the knock-out stage of the competition.

Earlier this year the following sides were crowned as the respective divisional intermediate hurling champions: Drom & Inch (Mid Tipperary), Borrisokane (North Tipperary), Ballybacon-Grange (South Tipperary) and Sean Treacy's (West Tipperary).


Moyne-Templetuohy dismissed the challenge of Lattin-Cullen Gaels in round two with fourteen points to spare (1-22 to 0-11) - the side coached by Denis Kelly (Toomevara) had helped themselves to an eleven-point win over Ballinahinch (0-20 to 0-9) in the opening round meaning that the Mid men had top spot all sewn up in group one.

On Sunday, September 2nd Ballinahinch and Lattin-Cullen Gaels met at Cappawhite with second place in the group up for grabs while the loser would face the relegation play-offs. And, Ballinahinch won that contest thanks to an emphatic sixteen-point margin of victory (3-20 to 0-13).

Ballinahinch 0-9 Moyne-Templetuohy 0-20
Moyne-Templetuohy 1-22 Lattin-Cullen Gaels 0-11
Ballinahinch 3-20 Lattin-Cullen Gaels 0-13


The final game in the group took place in Holycross on Sunday, September 2nd when Cashel King Cormacs beat Thurles Sarsfields (1-15 to 0-14) to win the group: Cashel King Cormacs finished first on five points (+8), Thurles Sarsfields second on four points (+22), Cappawhite third on two points (even score difference) and Carrick Davins bottom on a single point (-30).

On August 25th in Cahir the Cappawhite men recorded a fifteen-point win over Carrick Davins (3-20 to 1-11). In round two Thurles Sarsfields surged to their second consecutive win when beating Carrick Davins comprehensively (2-23 to 0-14). Previously Sars had dismissed the challenge of Cappawhite (1-24 to 0-13). In the second round Cashel beat Cappawhite (1-21 to 1-17) while they drew with Davins in the opening round (1-17 apiece).

Carrick Davins 1-17 Cashel King Cormacs 1-17
Thurles Sarsfields 1-24 Cappawhite 1-13
Thurles Sarsfields 2-23 Carrick Davins 0-14
Cashel King Cormacs 1-21 Cappawhite 1-17
Cappawhite 3-20 Carrick Davins 1-11
Cashel King Cormacs 1-15 Thurles Sarsfields 0-14


Group three reached a conclusion on August 25th when Borrisokane beat Galtee Rovers (4-16 to 2-12) at Holycross while Drom & Inch saw off the challenge of Arravale Rovers at Dundrum. Drom & Inch have topped the group on six points (+24), Borrisokane have finished second on four (+7), Galtee Rovers are third on two (-20) and Arravale Rovers are bottom on zero points (-11). In round two Borrisokane beat Arravale Rovers (4-13 to 1-16) while Drom & Inch proved too strong for Galtee Rovers (3-16 to 0-12). In the opening round Drom & Inch beat Borrisokane (1-11 to 0-5) while Galtee Rovers saw off the challenge of Arravale Rovers (1-12 to 0-12).

Borrisokane 0-5 Drom & Inch 1-11
Galtee Rovers 1-12 Arravale Rovers 0-12
Drom & Inch 3-16 Galtee Rovers 0-12
Borrisokane 4-13 Arravale Rovers 1-16
Borrisokane 4-16 Galtee Rovers 2-12
Drom & Inch 1-17 Arravale Rovers 1-15


On Sunday, August 26th at New Inn Gortnahoe-Glengoole earned a vital 0-19 to 0-14 over Moyle Rovers. In round two of this three-team group Seán Treacy’s earned themselves a narrow victory over Gortnahoe-Glengoole (0-16 to 0-14). The West champions had already accounted for Moyle Rovers (0-18 to 1-7) meaning that the side coached by Natal O’Grady had the group honours sewn up. So, second place was on the line on August 26th and Gortnahoe-Glengoole did the needful.

Seán Treacy's 0-18 Moyle Rovers 1-7
Seán Treacy’s 0-16 Gortnahoe-Glengoole 0-14
Gortnahoe-Glengoole 0-19 Moyle Rovers 0-14


On Saturday Golden-Kilfeacle beat Kilsheelan-Kilcash by a point (0-18 to 1-14) while on August 25th Ballybacon-Grange saw off the challenge of Kiladangan (1-27 to 0-15). So, Golden-Kilfeacle have topped the group on six points, Ballybacon-Grange are second on four, Kilsheelan-Kilcash are third on two and Kiladangan are bottom on zero.

In round two Golden-Kilfeacle notched their second successive victory when beating Ballybacon-Grange with quite a bit to spare (1-22 to 0-12). Golden-Kilfeacle saw off the challenge of Kiladangan (1-17 to 1-13) in the opening round. Meanwhile Kilsheelan-Kilcash carved out a narrow win over Kiladangan (0-21 to 2-14) - in the opening round Kilsheelan-Kilcash lost to Ballybacon-Grange (0-13 to 3-10).

Kiladangan 1-13 Golden-Kilfeacle 1-17
Kilsheelan-Kilcash 0-13 Ballybacon-Grange 3-10
Golden-Kilfeacle 1-22 Ballybacon-Grange 0-12
Kiladangan 2-14 Kilsheelan-Kilcash 0-21
Kiladangan 0-15 Ballybacon-Grange: 1-27
Golden-Kilfeacle 0-18 Kilsheelan-Kilcash 1-14


Last week Shannon Rovers beat Moneygall with five points to spare (4-14 to 1-18) meaning that all three teams in group six finished on two points. Therefore the final placings came down to scoring difference: first Moneygall (+4), second Shannon Rovers (+3) and third Knockavilla Kickhams (-7). In round two Moneygall blasted four goals and duly beat a fancied Knockavilla Kickhams side with nine points to spare (4-16 to 0-19). Knockavilla Kickhams beat Shannon Rovers (3-11 to 2-12) in the opening round.

Knockavilla Kickhams 3-11 Shannon Rovers 2-12
Moneygall 4-16 Knockavilla Kickhams 0-19
Moneygall 1-18 Shannon Rovers 4-14


The bottom team in each of the six groups will compete in the relegation play-offs which comprise of two groups of three. And, following a round robin series the bottom team will be relegated to junior A for 2019. So, this year's relegation play-offs will involve Arravale Rovers, Moyle Rovers, Kiladangan, Carrick Davins, Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams and Lattin-Cullen Gaels.


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.